Beauty Favorites 2015 (Pt. 3)

Welcome back! Today’s post will be part 3 of my beauty favorites of 2015 series! Today will be lips, my personal favorite!

 

2015 Lip Favorites.jpg

I am such a lipstick junkie, it’s not even funny. I love all makeup products, but lipsticks are my definite favorite. So stick around, because this is going to be a long one. These range from $1.49 all the way up to $24.

 

Let’s start off with lip liners, first brand is the most affordable out of all of the products that I’ll be mentioning in this post.

The Essence Lip Liners retail for $1.49 and the quality of these absolutely blows my mind. They’re highly pigmented, creamy in application, and last a ridiculously long time. These aren’t just “good for the price”. They’re good, period.

Essence Lipliner swatches.jpg

(Shades from top-bottom: Satin Mauve, Femme Fatale, Wish Me A Rose, Soft Berry, Honey Berry, Red Blush, In The Nude)

There is a wonderful array of shades to suit nearly every need you may have. These are such staples in my collection, and I highly recommend them to anyone and everyone.

My next lip liner favorite has become a product I honestly can’t fathom not having in my collection at this point, the Nyx Slim Lip Liner in the shade “Peek-A-Boo Neutral”.  Nyx Peek-A-Boo Neutral.jpg

This pencil is not nearly as creamy as the Essence pencils are, but I can get past that for this specific shade, and for the wide array of shades the line offers.

Peek-A-Boo Neutral Swatch.jpg

This shade is the absolute pinnacle of the perfect nude lip liner for me. It can be worn sheer to match many of your favorite nude lip products, or used heavily to give more definition to the lips.

I think the reason I love this so much is because of its versatility, I can wear it with anything from a nude to a deep berry for definition and to help my lipstick last much longer. If you’ve been struggling for the perfect nude lip liner, be sure to check this one out.

 

As we all know, matte (specifically liquid-matte) lip products have been a HUGE trend in 2015. I’ve tried several brands of liquid lipsticks, but none have even come close to the quality, comfort and staying power of The Balm Meet Matt(e) Hughes Liquid Lipsticks.

Meet Matt(e) Hughes.jpg

(This is a mini I received in my Ipsy bag!)

“Committed” is my favorite shade, it’s a beautiful warm, peachy nude shade that is so incredibly flattering on everyone I’ve seen it on.

Meet Matte Hughes swatch.jpg

It’s coming off very orange on camera, but for a more accurate swatch, refer to my swatch video I’ve posted quite a while ago on Instagram.

But on to the formula, these go on as a creamy liquid texture, and dry to a fully matte, transfer-proof finish. They also smell like thin mints, so that’s awesome. I find with this particular style of lipstick, they can be SO drying on the lips and incredibly uncomfortable for long term wear. But I haven’t experienced that with these. These are drying, to an extent, but nothing in comparison to the Anastasia Beverly Hills Liquid Lipsticks (which I really don’t like at all). All in all, these are the best liquid lipsticks I have come across yet, and I think they’re very underrated.

 

Next on our list for the matte lip trend are the Elf Matte Lip Colors.

Elf Matte Lip Color.jpg

 

 

These retail for $3, and have a beautiful array of shades to choose from.

Matte Lip Color Swatches.jpg

(Shades from top-bottom: Natural, Berry Sorbet, Praline, Cranberry)

These are comfortable and incredibly long lasting for a formula like this, which is what I look for in a matte lip product. In formula, I would compare these to the Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencils. They are very similar in not only opacity, but lasting power and even some of the shades! But the biggest difference? Price tag. The Nars pencils weigh in at $26 for approximately 2.4 grams of product, where the Elf alternative are $3 for 1.5 g, so you do get more product in the Nars, but if you’re on a budget, the Elf product is a fantastic alternative!

 

Finishing off matte lips on a strong note, the Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creams.

SMLC.jpg

These are not your typical liquid lipstick as many people have expected them to be, they are exactly what they state to be, a matte lip cream. These come in a huge array of shades to choose from, so there’s a shade to suit everyone’s preferences.

SMLC Swatches.jpg (Shades from top-bottom: Copenhagen, Morocco, Istanbul)

This is a more whipped, creamy formula in comparison to theBalm Meet Matt(e) Hughes I mentioned before. And because of that, they are significantly more comfortable than traditional liquid lipsticks, but are not as long wearing. With that being said, when I pair these with a lip liner, I get a solid 6-8 hours of wear out of these, which is really enough for me.

 

These do take a while to completely mattify, and if that is an issue for you, just lightly  blot them off with a tissue and you’re good to go!

This is a small swatch video I’ve done on my instagram, if you’re interested in seeing live application!

 

Another Nyx product I have to mention are the Round Case Lipsticks.

Nyx Round Lipsticks.jpg

First things first, I love the packaging. Sleek and attractive, yet shows the color of the actual lipstick on the bottom of the tube, which is a blessing for those of us who have huge lipstick collections!

These are a very creamy formula, so they stay relatively glossy throughout wear, meaning they don’t least nearly as long as others may. The deeper/brighter colors stick around for a good 3-4 hours without needing to reapply, but the very light shades tend to start fading around the 2 hour mark (if you’re eating and drinking). But for only $4, and 44 beautiful shades to choose from, I really can’t complain!

Nyx Round Lipstick Swatches .jpg (Top-bottom: Snow White, Doll, Thalia, Tea Rose, Haute Melon, Pink Lyric, Femme)

 

Last for lipsticks is the nude lipstick that completely stole my heart, Makeup Revolution’s Love Nude.

MUR Love Nude.jpg

Makeup Revolution is a very new brand to hit the states, as it’s already a very well know UK brand that has recently come to Ulta stores! And the prices are completely insane.

This particular lipstick (line is known as the Amazing Lipsticks) is $3. Yep. Just $3 for an incredibly high quality, pigmented, comfortable lipstick.

This is the perfect nude shade for  us fair skinned girls, with the perfect amount of peachy-brown tint to it that you avoid that “dead lip” look.

Love Nude Swatch.jpg

Finally, on to glosses. I know this is a long one, but I couldn’t narrow it down!

 

For my first pick, back to Nyx. The beloved Butter Glosses.

Nyx Butter Gloss.jpg

If you follow the makeup scene, you’ve already heard of these plenty. But I couldn’t make this post without mentioning them. They are by far the best lip gloss I have ever tried. Full, opaque color and a long lasting formula without being sticky.

Nyx Butter Gloss Swatches.jpg

(Top-bottom: Cherry Cheesecake, Tiramisu)

As with most Nyx products I’ve mentioned here, there is a large shade range, but my absolute favorite has to be “Tiramisu”. This shade is a pale girl’s dream gloss. That being said, I’ve seen this shade on deep skin and it’s just as beautiful.

If you haven’t tried these yet, the hype is justified, and I strongly suggest you pick one up!

 

And for our last product, the Elf EX-tra Lip GlossesElf Ex-Tra Lip Gloss.jpg

These glosses all have men’s names, hence the “ex” thing. Kinda cute, right? But the main draw to this product is not only the price ($2) but the sheer quality of these absolutely blow my mind.

Full color glosses without being sticky and thick is an incredibly hard thing to find at all, let alone in a price point like this.

EX-tra Lip Gloss Swatches.jpg (Top-bottom: Michael [personal favorite], Brian, Luke)

These are made with wonderful, moisturizing ingredients such as avocado and jojoba oil to keep the lips hydrated and beautifully glossy.

These have more of a paddle style applicator (that I forgot to photograph, oops) instead of the traditional doe foot most glosses tend to have, making it easy to get a well defined lip line without having to use an actual lip liner.

I really hope Elf expands the shade selection of these, because I would buy them all!

And with that, we conclude this final installment of my 2015 favorites!

Thanks for stopping by, and stay tuned for the next post!

-Samantha

Leave a Reply

