The Monthly Meow: Tiki Cat Gourmet Carnivore Variety Pack Canned Cat Food (February 2016)

Welcome back!

We’re going to be starting something new here on the blog, The Monthly Meow. Once a month, I’ll be bringing you a non-beauty related review, and instead something for my little furry friends out there, courtesy of Chewy.com. Every month, Chewy will be sending me a product of my choosing for Daechir and I to review!

And if you don’t follow me on Instagram, Daechir (pronounced Day-Sheer, for anyone curious), is my Oriental Shorthair/Siamese mix!

mewmew

(I know, she’s fabulous. You don’t need to tell me. )

This month, Daechir and I had the opportunity to try out the Tiki Cat Gourmet Carnivore Variety Pack Canned Cat Food.

Tiki Cat .jpg This particular pack comes with 12 cans, consisting of several different flavors.

Tiki Cat Gourmet.jpg (Chicken & Liver [2], Beef & Liver, Chicken & Turkey [2], Chicken & Duck [2], Beef Liver & Lamb, Beef Liver & Chicken, Tilapia, Seabass, Bonito Tuna with Mussels, Shrimp, and Squid)

As you can tell, really great variety of flavors, and all very appealing to my kitty.

This pack retails for $17.49 on Chewy.com, making it the most affordable place to purchase this.

Each can weighs 2.8 oz, which is only 0.2 oz smaller than a can of Fancy Feast. What really sets this food apart is the ingredients.

  • Grain and gluten-free recipe
  • 55% protein, 35% fat, 0% carb
  • Made with whole meats
  • With added vitamins, minerals and trace nutrients
  • Carbohydrate, starch and flour free
  • Zero glycemic index
  • Meets the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO for All Life Stages    

(copied from Chewy.com)

So whereas this is just a little pricier per can than other variety packs (about $1.45/can) , you are definitely paying for quality ingredients.  Not to mention, this food is human grade quality.

The recommended amount is 1 can per 3 pounds of your cat’s weight, twice that amount for kittens, and up to four times that amount for pregnant or nursing cats.

Can.jpg

Can3.jpg

Immediately when you open the can, you can see REAL meat chunks in a broth.

Food.jpg (This was Beef Liver & Lamb, and you can see that this is real meat, no mystery here.)

My cat’s daily food is canned Fancy Feast, because she is pathetically picky. She will turn her little wet nose up at basically anything that is not Fancy Feast. Seriously, this cat has refused fresh salmon and shrimp. She’s a Fancy Feast purist.

Until she tried this.

As you can tell in this video on Instagram,and this photo below, she LOVED this food! I was honestly shocked that she liked it so much, since she’s so picky.  eating the noms.jpg (Pictured is the Bonito Tuna with Mussels, Shrimp, and Squid flavor)

I really haven’t noticed a huge difference in the texture of her coat or anything, but I have noticed that she gets hungry faster while eating this in comparison to her normal routine. But I’m sure that is because this food is in a consomme, instead of a thick pate of mystery meat.

Ultimately, I’m really happy with this food, and I know she is too. I love knowing exactly what her meals consist of, and I feel really confident feeding her Tiki Cat.

I hope you’ve liked this post, stay tuned for the next installment of The Monthly Meow.

Thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha (and Daechir!)

 

*These products were sent to me by Chewy.com for review purposes. I am not being paid for this post,all thoughts are mine, and completely truthful. You can always count on my blog to be 100% honest.

One thought on “The Monthly Meow: Tiki Cat Gourmet Carnivore Variety Pack Canned Cat Food (February 2016)

Leave a Reply

