February 2016 Ipsy Unbagging + Review

Welcome back!

Today’s post will be on my February Ipsy* Bag, which if you didn’t catch my post last month, is a $10 subscription service where you’ll receive a bag full of personalized goodies every month!

So without further ado, let’s get into the bag!

February 2016 Ipsy.jpg

This month’s theme was “Pretty In Pink”, and though I’m not a fan of pink as a general rule, I think this bag and the theme itself was pretty cute, I much prefer it to the Andy Warhol-esque bag we received last month.

The first product I was super excited to see was the Smashbox Primer Oil.

Smashbox Primer Oil.jpg

This is an itty-bitty little sample size, but you don’t really need much of an oil, so I don’t particularly mind.

This does give the skin a more luminous finish, which I was really excited to see, since my skin is so dry. BUT, as with most dewy products, this settles into every pore and line I have. I don’t think this product really hydrated my skin any more than my jojoba oil does, and really didn’t prolong the wear of my makeup.

All in all, not a bad product, but I will stick with my jojoba oil. It does the same thing, and is significantly cheaper.

Next up, the Naked Cosmetics Single Color Eyeshadow.

Naked Cosmetics.jpg (Shade: Sierra Nevada)

This shade is absolutely stunning, the pigment is rich and concentrated, with a beautiful amount of glitter running through it.

Naked cosmetics swatch.jpg (First swatch over no primer, second over the Elf Glitter Primer, my preferred way to use loose pigments)

Really a beautiful product, but my issue with this is the price, and the packaging.

These retail for $15, and for a loose product that has no sifter, I believe that to be incredibly overpriced.

As much as I do like this product, I can’t justify spending $15 on it when it makes such a ridiculous mess every time I open it. So in all honesty, I won’t buy another of these until they come with sifters.

Moving on, the Sparkling Lipgloss – Vintage by Jessica Liebskind

Vintage .jpg (Shade: Pink Sequin)  

As you can tell by the name, this is HIGHLY shimmery, so worn by itself it can be incredibly overpowering. But layered over a lip liner, or just applied directly to the center of the lips, I think it’s really beautiful and adds a lot of fullness to the lips.

As for the texture, it is on the sticky side. Not to the point where it’s uncomfortable, but it is noticeable. Shockingly enough, for the amount of shimmer in this gloss, it doesn’t feel terribly gritty, as I find to be the case with most glosses like this. There is a slight gritty texture, but again, not overwhelming.

All in all, I really like it and am interested to explore the brand more.

Next up is a nail polish from Trust Fund Beauty.

TFB.jpg (Shade: I’m Kind Of  A Big Deal)  

I’m am definitely no nail polish aficionado, but I really, really enjoy this polish. The color is completely opaque with one coat, and the color is beautiful.

TFB swatch.jpg

I used this polish as a base for this little nail stamping adventure (which is totally a story for another day), but for my first time doing it, not too bad!

I really like everything about this polish, and more likely than not will purchase more shades in the line!

For the last product in February’s bag, I received the Perfectly Posh BFF Exfoliating Face Wash.

BFF scrub.jpg

This is a face wash with small, exfoliating natural microbeads. This product really did exfoliate my face nicely, and kept it feeling really soft and great several days after my first use.

My only issues with this product are that the microbeads are so incredibly tiny it’s hard to make sure they’re all off of your skin. Not necessarily a huge deal, but something to be noted.

My other gripe with this product is the scent. The only way I can describe it is the physical embodiment of that taste when you drink orange juice immediately after brushing your teeth. I’m sure that’s due to the citrus scent from the grapefruit and the peppermint combined. But the smell is nearly nauseating, and I’m not particularly sensitive to scents as a general rule, so if you are, I would pass on this.

And that’ll be it for this month’s Ipsy bag! Stay tuned for the next one!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

 

*This is my personal Ipsy referral link. If you don’t want to use it, just visit http://www.ipsy.com

Leave a Reply

