Monthly Favorites -February 2016

Welcome back!

Today I’ll be talking about all of my favorite, most used products of this month! This has been the month of rediscovering old things in my collection that I had forgotten about, and I’m so glad I pulled them out again!

So let’s start out with skincare, which I know tends to be kind of boring, so we’ll breeze through it really quick.

This is like a lifetime favorite, but I went back to it this month for not only skincare, but makeup as well, the Now Foods Organic Jojoba Oil .

jojoba oil.jpg

Just a few drops of this magic stuff takes my skin from dull and dry to healthy and luminous.

I generally use just a few drops after my morning and evening skincare, but I recently began using it as a primer, testing it as a dupe for the Smashbox Primer Oil. Using only one  small drop and blending it well into the skin gives you the exact same results as the Smashbox primer, with a much smaller price tag. I absolutely recommend this product to everyone with dry skin, it’s a multitasking, lifesaving product!

Sticking with face products for now, I’ve been using my Rimmel Lasting Finish Foundation almost exclusively this entire month.

Rimmel foundation.jpg

(My shade is Light Ivory, for anyone who’s curious. It’s a great shade for me!)

This foundation has amazing coverage, without looking or feeling heavy. I apply this with a damp blending sponge, and do not set it with any powder and I love how it makes my skin look. As the name suggests, the lasting power is really great, and wears all day on my skin.

Something else I feel I should mention is that this foundation is incredibly versatile and can work for all skin types. If you’re oily, use a primer and set with powder, and you’ll be set! All in all, this is one of my favorites foundations of all time, and it’s one of the most affordable at the drugstore.

Another Rimmel face product has been a favorite this month, the Match Perfection Concealer

Rimmel concealer.jpg

This concealer has a salmon tone to it, which makes it great for not only concealing, but correcting at the same time. I don’t find it to be drying whatsoever on my under eyes, and I get a lot of great wear time out of it.

I think this would be a great concealer for those who have really dark under eye discoloration, and don’t want to fuss around with a corrector and a concealer, and would rather have a 2 in 1!

Last for the face, the Elf Cool Bronzer.

Cool bronzer.jpg

I picked this up a while ago, but I forgot about it with all the other contouring products that hit the market this past year. I decided to pull it out again and realized how much I really enjoy it!

bronzer swatch.jpg

As the name suggests, this is a cool toned, matte, “mosaic”style bronzer composed of  four different shades. If you so desired, you could use the isolated colors and get 4 separate tones out of it, or just swirl it all together to get the shade swatched above.

I use this as a contour shade in the hollows of my cheeks, and the color works beautifully for me. If you are looking for an affordable contour powder, look no further.

I only have one lip product favorite this month, and it’s the Elf Cosmetic Mineral Lipstick in “Beautiful Berry”.

Beautiful Berry.jpg

I have several of these, and I really enjoy the formula. This shade in particular is one that I really loved around this time last year and dug it out of the lipstick grave yard to enjoy again!

Elf lipstick swatch.jpg

These are beautifully pigmented, comfortable, have a satin-matte formula, and have really incredible lasting power. I highly recommend these lipsticks, and need to expand my collection!

We’ll finish up this post with eye products, starting with my favorite palette of this month, the Lorac Pro Palette.

Lorac Pro.jpg

This is an oldie but a goodie, comprised of 8 mattes and 8 shimmer neutrals of impeccable quality.

Lorac swatches.jpg

I think if you’re looking to spend money on just one high end palette, it should be this one. These shades can go from smokey to super wearable, making it one of the most versatile palettes in my collection, and the quality is unbeatable. Absolute must have, and I’m glad I pulled it out of my collection again this month.

Last product I’m going to talk about today is one I never thought I would ever buy, let alone love, the Maybelline Colossal Chaotic mascara.

Maybelline colossal.jpg

This mascara has some incredibly bizarre claims of giving you “disorganized” lashes, complete with the very strange wand, and I am definitely not into that look

Maybelline wand.jpg

But I really like what this does to my lashes when used in a conventional sense. It adds a lot of volume and fullness to my otherwise sad lashes. I have to admit, I never would have picked this up, had it not been on clearance for $3, so thanks Shopko.

That will wrap it up for this post! Thank you for reading, and if you liked it, be sure to subscribe to my blog for email notifications every time I upload.

Thanks for stopping by!

 

-Samantha

 

 

*This post is NOT sponsored, all products were purchased by me.

3 thoughts on “Monthly Favorites -February 2016

Leave a Reply

