March 2016 Ipsy Unbagging + Review

Welcome back!

It’s that time of the month again where we take a look inside and talk about the products I received in my *Ipsy bag!

If you haven’t seen my previous posts, Ipsy is a subscription service for $10 per month. Once a month, a bag filled with 4-5 personalized beauty goodies shows up in your mailbox!

So now that we’ve got the details out of the way, let’s get into the bag!

Ipsy march 2016

This month’s theme was “Hello, Spring!”, hence our very colorful bag, which I honestly don’t like at all, just not my style. But on to the actual products.

We’ll start with my least favorite of the bunch, and get it out of the way. The Marc Anthony Perfect Blow Dry Smoothing Cream.

Smoothing cream.jpg (This is a sample size at 1.69 oz, full size is 6.76 oz and retails at $8.99) 

This just did absolutely nothing for my hair. Didn’t make it any softer, and was just an extra step I don’t normally bother taking in my hair routine.

I have very long hair, so blow drying is just a pain more than anything. If this actually worked to smooth out my hair, I could potentially see myself doing it more often, but this product did the exact opposite. It was heavy and weighed my hair down, actually causing me to have frizz, which I never struggle with. Definitely not a fan.

Moving on to something I really enjoyed, the Manna Kadar 3-in-1 Blush, Highlighter, Eyeshadow in “Fantasy”.

Mannakaddar.jpg (Retails for $19) 

I initially thought this would be way too dark to be a blush or highlight on my skin, but I find that you get a very different result depending on the type of brush you use.

To highlight my cheekbones, I used a fan brush, which isn’t as dense as a lot of other brushes. So instead of packing on the rose gold shade, it resulted in beautiful sheen on my skin to areas applied.

To use this product as a blush, I used a more dense brush and packed on the color instead of just lightly sweeping it on with a wispy brush.

Mannakaddar swatch.jpg (Stub hand swatch ftw) 

I am all about multitasking products, and am super happy to add this one to my collection!

Next thing I was really excited to see in this bag was the Pixi Beauty Blush Duo in “Rose Gold”.

Pixi Rose Gold.jpg (Full size comes with a kabuki brush and retails for $18 on Pixi’s website) 

I rarely wear blush, as I naturally have very rosy cheeks and work very hard to correct and conceal that, but I really do like this duo. The blush is a beautiful satin finish sheer rose color, which is very easy for most skin colors to pull off.

Pixi swatch.jpg

The highlight is definitely my favorite part of this duo, which is a beautiful champagne white gold that looks absolutely gorgeous on the cheekbones.  The texture is very finely milled, leaving a beautiful sheen on the cheeks without being outwardly glittery.

Having never tried any Pixi products before and this being my first, I’m really excited to try more from the line!

I don’t talk about brushes very often on here because quite frankly, they bore me. But they are absolutely essential, so it’s nice to get one every so often in this subscription service.

This month I received the Beau Gâchis Paris Eyebrow Brush.

brush.jpg (Retails for $15) 

The cut on this brush is really nice for cream and gel eyeliners and brow products, as well as powder. But beyond that, this is a pretty unspectacular brush.

brush head.jpg

Whereas I don’t dislike it and find the quality to be good, I have other brushes for a significantly lower price tag that perform just as well as this one.

And finally, a product I was really shocked to see in this month’s bag, the Illamasqua Precision Ink Eyeliner in “Abyss”.  

Illamasqua.jpg

Illamasqua is a very pricey brand, this liner itself coming in at a whopping $28! So right away, since this is a full size, you’re getting an amazing deal. Only $10 for this $28 product and 4 other products!

Illamasqua liner .jpg

This is a felt tip applicator, which is very long and flexible, making it super easy to get a thin, precise line. This formula is so ridiculously black and opaque, which I really, really like.

Illamasqua swatch.jpg (Seriously. Gorgeous) 

Illamasqua states that this liner is waterproof, and will not come off unless you remove it, which I found to be accurate. I have pretty watery eyes, so I am prone to rubbing my eyes throughout the day and this liner did not move at all, but was still very easy to remove with makeup remover at the end of the day.

This is also marketed as a nail art pen, which I haven’t tried because I suck at nail art. The website says to set it with a top coat, if you’re interested in trying that.

The only cons for this liner for me is the price, and the rather pungent smell associated with it, but I can get past that. I’m really over the moon for this liner, which is unfortunate, due to the price.

That’ll wrap up this post on my March Ipsy bag!

If you’ve liked this post, be sure to subscribe to receive an email notification every time I post!

 

Thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

*Link provided is my personal Ipsy referral code. If you’re not interested in using it, just visit www.ipsy.com 

**This post is NOT sponsored, I pay for this subscription myself.

2 thoughts on “March 2016 Ipsy Unbagging + Review

Leave a Reply

