Monthly Favorites – March 2016

Welcome back!

It’s time again to discuss my favorite products from this month! So without further ado, let’s get started!

Faves.jpg

I was really feeling colorful eyes this month, since the weather here has been a little more springy (even though it snowed today, but I digress.)

So to accomplish that color I was craving, I used my Makeup Revolution Mermaids Forever Eyeshadow Palette.  

Mermaids forever.jpg (Retails for $15) 

Makeup Revolution is a UK brand that is pretty new to hit Ulta stores in America, and I’m so happy they did. I’ve been really impressed with the quality of the products I’ve tried so far, this one being no exception.

Mermaids forever palette swatches.jpg

This has a beautiful array of color with a few neutrals mixed in as well. Comprised of mostly shimmer, with only 2 or 3 mattes in the entire 32 piece palette.

As for the quality, not every shade is a total hit by itself, some of these really do require a base. But for the price, I can’t complain! Most of the shades are very buttery, pigmented, smooth, and look stunning on the eyes!

 

My next favorite of the month has to be the Prestige Total Intensity Eyeliner in “Outrageous Emerald”. 

Prestige total intensity.jpg (Retails for $5.95) 

I am so ridiculously impressed with this eyeliner. This is the creamiest, most pigmented eyeliner I have ever used. The texture is very comparable to the Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeliners.

Eyeliner swatch.jpg

This is an absolutely gorgeous eyeliner, so I’m bummed that I’ve only been able to get my hands on this one, because I want every color!

Finishing up with eye products, let’s talk about the L’Oréal Extra Volume Collagen Mascara.

Loreal mascara.jpg (Retails for $7.99) 

First things first, I love the packaging, this looks so high end for a drugstore mascara!

But on to the actual product. If you’ve been here for awhile, you know that my holy grail mascara is the L’Oréal Voluminous Carbon Black, but I honestly think I like this even more!

mascara wand.jpg

The brush is very reminiscent of the ever coveted Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara, with its hourglass shaped wand.

As for the formula, it builds volume like you would not believe. My lashes have never looked better than when I started wearing this mascara! It is a bit more of a dry formula, but I personally like that, as I feel it builds on itself much better than a wet mascara, which helps keep the mascara from getting all clumpy and spidery.  So if you’re in the market for a new mascara, definitely check this one out!

 

I only have one face product to share with you this month, and it comes in at a whopping price tag of $1! I’m talking about the Elf Cosmetics Shimmering Facial Whips.

facial whip.jpg

These are somewhat of a veteran in Elf’s line. There was a time when everything in the line was only $1, but I won’t complain, because the quality of their products have changed dramatically for the better.  But on to the actual products at hand.

facial whip swatches.jpg (Shades: Golden Peach, Spotlight, Lilac Petal)  

These are cream highlighters that come in a variety of shades. And the best part? They smell exactly like fruit loops cereal, and I love it.

These blend easily into the skin and give a beautiful dewy sheen. I use these either under my foundation, over my makeup on my cheekbones as a highlight, add them into a more matte foundation to add a little luminosity, or add to a primer for the same effect. These are absolute must-haves, especially for only $1!

Let’s finish up this post with my favorite thing to talk about, lip products!

First up, the Replenish Soap Natural Lip Balm in “Creamy Caramel“.

Replenish lip balm.jpg (Retails for $3) 

I was lucky enough to be able to do an entire review on these products, and was blown away by everything I was able to try, but this product has probably been the biggest stand out for me. My lips have never been this smooth, and I have become totally loyal to this lip balm!

If you’re interested in trying some of the products, my code MAKEUP10 is still valid until April 8th!

Next, for an actual color lip product, I couldn’t put down my Nyx Matte Lipstick in “Whipped Caviar”. 

Nyx matte lipstick.jpg (Retails for $5.99) 

 

Whipped caviar.jpg

As most of you may know, the matte lips trend has proven that it’s not going anywhere in 2016, but if you’re not a fan of the intense, drying matte liquid lipsticks, these are a good alternative for you.

Whipped Caviar swatch.jpg

This is one of those dusty mauve-brown colors that everyone is in love with right now, but for good reason. It’s such a stunning take on a nude lipstick.

As for the formula, it’s completely matte, very smooth and creamy, comfortable on the lips, and has great staying power. If you haven’t tried these yet, I highly suggest you pick up this color!

If you haven’t realized by now, I LOVE Nyx lip products, and use them frequently. So my next lip favorite is yet another Nyx product, the Butter Lipstick in “Snowcap”.

nyx butter lipstick.jpg (Retails for $5.99) 

I rarely hear people talking about these lipsticks, but I absolutely love them! They are exactly as they sound, smooth as butter and super hydrating. I strongly suggest you pick up a few of these!

Snow cap.jpg

By itself, Snow Cap is a little too nude for me, but when it’s paired with my final favorite, the color is so incredibly stunning.

And the last favorite for this post is my Wet ‘n Wild Coloricon Lip Liner in “Chestnut”.

Chestnut

This is not the shade of lip liner I would typically go for, but I actually won this little number in a giveaway that was hosted by Mallory of @champagnetastesbeerbudget on Instagram, and I’m so glad I have it, because it’s a total must have in my collection now.

This shade is PERFECT for not only achieving a warm, brown matte lip if used all over in place of a lipstick, but is also great to deepen up any lipstick that is a little too nude to wear, as I stated with the Nyx Butter Lipstick in “Snow Cap”.

Did I mention these are only $0.99? Yeah, seriously. Great quality, beautiful shade range, total win! I definitely need to add more of these to my collection, and I suggest you do the same!

 

That’ll be it for this month’s favorite products, please stay tuned for tomorrow’s post, which will be a look I’ve done using all of these products, so you can see how they look in action.

If you’ve liked this post, please be sure to subscribe, so you can receive email updates every time I post!

Thanks for stopping by!

 

-Samantha

 

*This post is NOT sponsored, all products besides the Replenish lip balm and the Wet ‘n Wild lip liner were purchased myself.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

