NYC Lovatics By Demi Natural Eyeshadow Palette – Review

Welcome back!

Today I bring you a review on a palette I was so excited to see hit stores, the NYC Lovatics By Demi Natural Eyeshadow Palette.

NYC (New York Color), is a drugstore brand with very low prices, this palette being no exception, weighing in at $6.99.  However, NYC hasn’t been known to bring the highest quality to the drugstore in the past, so I was very interested to try this out and see if it measures up to other drugstore palettes in the same price range.

This palette was done in collaboration with the brand’s ambassador, Demi Lovato, and I believe it’s a Target exclusive.

So with all of the details out of the way, let’s get into the actual palette.

NYC Lovatics

The first thing most people who are well acquainted with makeup will notice is this palette’s likeness to the cult classic Urban Decay Naked Palette, which undoubtedly was a large contributor to the neutral shadow palette craze we’ve experienced in the past decade or so.

I don’t have that one to compare, but this video by YouTuber Emilynoel83 does a full comparison between the Naked palette and this one, if you’re interested in that aspect of this palette.

This has an array of 12 neutral shadows, consisting of mattes, satins, and shimmer finishes.

swatches.jpg

As for the texture, these are decently pigmented, albeit a little powdery, but they definitely requires some sort of base to really pop and show up really well.

My biggest gripe with this palette is that there isn’t enough contrast in the matte shades. The first two mattes are so similar that they’re virtually indistinguishable when on the eyes. The other mattes are really nice, but I just wish there was a dark brown matte shade to really deepen up the outer v of my eye without having to go in with the shimmery black from this palette. This may not be a big deal for most, I think that comes down to your personal preference with shadow textures.

With that being said, I really do like this palette, especially for a quick every day look. I find it to be pretty versatile, and for only $7, it’s a good addition to your collection, especially for a beginner.

For the purpose of this review, I did a 3 totally different looks using this palette to share some different ways to use this with you!

smokey collage For this look, I used only the mattes for this dark plummy smokey eye.

(The light beige shade as a transition, the slightly darker brown in my crease, and the plum brown all over my lid)

natural collage.jpg This look uses only 2 shades for a super easy, natural, every day look.

(Light brown shade in the crease, pinky-champagne on the lid)

halo collage.jpg This one is a little more dramatic, with a black and gray halo eye.   (Let’s not talk about my questionable lash glue application)

(Light beige as a transition, black in the inner and outer corners, pinky-champagne in the center of the lid)

So ultimately, I’m happy to have this palette in my collection, and will continue to use it. Definitely a good buy for $7!

 

That’ll do it for this post! I hope you’ve enjoyed it, and please subscribe!

 

-Samantha

 

 

 

*This post is NOT sponsored. All products were purchased myself. Some links are affiliates.

 

Leave a Reply

