The Monthly Meow: KONG Naturals Incline Cat Scratcher

Welcome back to our third installment of The Monthly Meow!

This has been such a fun series to do, I’m so glad it’s gotten great feedback from my readers, and I’m very thankful for Chewy giving me the opportunity to do this each month!

So, without further ado, let’s get into our product for this month!

20151126_090605oijuydf.jpg (It’s been a pretty chill month, perfect for casual recliner lounging)

Our April product is the Kong Naturals Incline Cat Scratcher.

scratchy thing.jpg

This scratcher is made with renewable resources, is completely recyclable, ingrained with North American mountain grown catnip, and is very affordable!

So right off the bat, it sounds pretty great.

The scratching pad itself is made of double sided densely packed corrugated cardboard, and is surprisingly durable for what it is.

scratchy

My cat basically went nuts the minute this thing came out of the box, and is still loving it! Which shocks me, because she is very picky when it comes to toys, and would much rather scratch the arm of my couch than anything like this.

kong .jpg

As you can see in this photo, the scratcher has a very enticing little hole on each side that opens to a crinkle ball hanging on an elastic string.

little ball thing inside.jpg (Much more difficult to photograph than it seems) 

Anyone with a cat knows that something like this is pretty much impossible for your cat to ignore, mine included. She loves the scratcher, but this little thing drives her wild, as you can see in this video from my Instagram.

the thing for the thing.jpg

The cardboard scratcher is actually an insert that can be flipped to the other side when one side is worn out, and its life extended for much longer. Once your cat has thoroughly destroyed the insert, you can pitch it and purchase a single refill that will fit directly into the cardboard shell. So for less than $6, you’re basically getting two scratchers and a refillable incline, which I think is a great deal.

In some reviews I read before receiving the product, some people had complained about this not being sturdy enough for their large cats.  Daechir weighs around 4 lbs, so this really hasn’t been a concern for me. But in other reviews, some with large cats had no issue with it. But for less than $6, it’s not a huge loss if it’s not heavy enough for your cat, and you could add something into the base to weigh it down if need be.

 

From an owner perspective, I love this product for its price ($5.79 on Chewy.com!) and the refillable concept. This is a total win in my book, and I know Daechir loves it just as much as I do!

datass.jpg (I had no idea it was even possible for her to do that with her tail….)

That’ll be the end of this installment of The Monthly Meow! I hope you’ve enjoyed this post, and if you have, please subscribe to receive email notifications for my posts!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

 

*This product was sent to me by Chewy.com for review purposes. I am not being compensated for this post, and all thoughts and opinions are my own.

3 thoughts on “The Monthly Meow: KONG Naturals Incline Cat Scratcher

Leave a Reply

