April 2016 Ipsy Unbagging + Review

Welcome back!

Today I bring you yet another look at my  *Ipsy from this month! I’ve done several of these posts so far, but in case you’re new, Ipsy is a $10 per month subscription service that sends 4-5 deluxe to full size products to your mailbox every month. So with the details out of the way, let’s get into the bag.

Ipsy april 2016.jpg

This month’s theme was “Dreamers”, so the watercolor bag is cute, and I much prefer it to the bag from last month.

The first product I was really excited to see was the Tarte Lipsurgence Lip Creme in the shade “Wonder”. tarte lipsutgenec wonder.jpg (This is a deluxe sample size, full size retails for $24) 

This is a really nice lip pencil, with excellent staying power and a very refreshing minty taste / feel.

tarte lipsurgence.jpg (Do you prefer lip swatches to typical swatches? Let me know!)  

The color is beautiful, and has really nice staying power for what it is. This is definitely a product I would consider buying a full size of. Really like this!

I’m always excited to see nail polish in my bag, and this month I received the Adesse New York Organic Infused Gel Effect Nail Lacquer  in the shade “Irina”.

adesse.jpg ($18) 

Right from the jump, I was NOT impressed with this in the slightest. The application was very streaky and patchy, and took about 3 coats to get a decent look on the nails. Not ideal at all, but I can get past that. But the smell? Completely rancid. I know nail polish isn’t exactly the best smell in the world, but this is next level disgusting, and the smell lingers for a long time.

I didn’t even get a chance to take a fancy picture with this polish on, because it chipped IMMEDIATELY. I didn’t do anything to cause my nails to chip and even used my regular top coat, and still had a ridiculous amount of chipping.

Snapchat-8149387933995986883.jpg (Very professional photo from my Snapchat [makeupinmontana…add me!]) 

This photo was after having it on for 1 day, without doing anything strenuous to chip it.

So with the struggle in application, disgusting smell, and immediate chipping, this is a total fail. I appreciate the organic nature of this product, but think it is WILDLY overpriced for the quality. Really unhappy with this product, and will never purchase another.

Moving on from that, my next product I received was the Trust Fund Beauty That Glo Tho Cream Highlighting Stick.

that glo tho.jpg ($20) 

I love highlighting, as I like to add a little bit of life back in to my dry, dull skin. But this product really didn’t impress me at all.

Trust fund swatch.jpg

This has a really nice creamy texture, but unfortunately just deposits silver glitter onto my face, with no trace of the beautiful rose gold shade shown in the swatch.

I recently tried a nail polish from Trust Fund that I was very impressed by, but this one just really didn’t work for me. I prefer my highlighter to give me a natural glow with no glitter.

On to something that I did like, the Luxie 522 Tapered Highlighting Brush. 

luxie tapered highlighter.jpg ($24)

This is a really good quality brush that works well for highlighting, as well as contouring, and blush application.

luxi brush.jpg

I have nothing bad to say about this brush, but it is relatively expensive for what it is. I always use my Elf Studio Blush Brush for my highlight, and it works just as well as this, and costs $21 less.

The last product I received in my bag this month was the Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! Deep Conditioning Mask.

briogio.jpg (Sample size. Full size retails for $36) 

I honestly saw no difference in my hair after using this. Maybe it was a tiny bit softer, but not enough to go through the hassle of using this product. Not to mention the size of the sample. The instructions recommend using 1-2 “nickel sized amounts”. My hair is down to the small of my back, so I had to use almost this entire sample in my hair. So perhaps my thoughts would have been different had I been able to try it more than once. But upon first impression, I’m really not impressed.

That concludes this somewhat somber Ipsy bag review. I was so disappointed with over half of my bag this month, and only had 2 items I enjoyed. Typically, my bags are MUCH better than this, so this one was incredibly underwhelming. However, I did appreciate that I received so many full sized products. Let’s hope for a better bag in May!

As always, thank you for taking the time to read my post! If you’ve enjoyed, be sure to subscribe to receive email notifications of my posts!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

*This is my personal Ipsy referral code. If you’re not interested in using that, just visit www.ipsy.com.

 

**This post is NOT sponsored. All products were purchased myself.

Leave a Reply

