May 2016 Ipsy Unbagging + Review

Welcome back!

Today I bring you a look into my May *Ipsy bag! I’ve done several of these posts, but if you’re not familiar, Ipsy is a $10/month subscription service that sends a bag of personalized beauty products directly to your door once a month.

Ipsy may.jpg

This month’s theme was Destination Chic, and I actually think the bag is really cool, and very useful. Typically Ipsy bags have a zipper closure, so it’s kind of fun to see a snap on one.

The first product I pulled out of my bag this month was the Pacifica Natural Mineral Coconut Eyeshadow Trio in the shade “Skinny Dip/Crush/Lovely”.

PicMonkey Collagepacifica($7.99)

I really love the natural aspect of this, and that part of the proceeds support clean water.  If you’ve been here for awhile, you know that I love anything and everything organic and natural. Unfortunately, this didn’t really impress me much.

pacifica swatch.jpg

These eyeshadows actually perform MUCH better on the eyes than they do in the swatches, and they are very soft to the touch. I was able to get some really nice eye looks out of this little trio, but it isn’t a favorite for me.

cg look2 (For this look I blended the peachy shade into my crease, packed the taupe shade on my lid, and the cream shade in my inner corner) 

Moving on, the next thing I received was the Glamour Dolls Gloss Snob in “Twirl”.

gloss snob .jpg

($1.99) 

This is actually a really nice, very pretty gloss, and this shade is described as a “watermelon” on the Glamour Dolls website, but comes off more as a soft pink on the lips.

GS Swatch.jpg

I don’t find this to last terribly long, but that is to be expected with a gloss. The texture is not sticky whatsoever, and I really do like the product. I don’t love the applicator, as I feel like its a lot easier to make a big mess with a squeeze tube like this, but for the price, one can’t complain.

The last cosmetic product I received in this month’s bag is the Smashbox X-Rated Mascara. 

smashbox xrated mascara.jpg

(Sample size. Full size retails for $22) 

The wand on this mascara reminds me a lot of the Covergirl Super Sizer, in the sense that the brush is not completely covered in bristles, has areas that contain the product and bristles to brush it through the lashes.

mascara wand.jpg

This does have natural bristles, which I typically prefer to rubber bristles. This mascara does give me decent lashes, but I honestly am not super impressed by the results.I found that it made my lashes look kind of spidery and clumpy.

PicMonkey Collagertf.jpg

I’ve been using the new Covergirl Super Sizer Fibers mascara religiously since I received it, and maybe the reason I’m not loving this one so much is because I’m comparing it to my new favorite, and it doesn’t measure up. (If you want to see my results with that mascara, check out this review.)  

This flakes pretty badly on me, and feels really thick and sticky on my lashes. So unfortunately, I just don’t really see myself purchasing the full size of this product.

On to the products that aren’t color cosmetics, I received the Vera Mona Eye Smudger Brush.

vera mona brush.jpg(Not sure on the price, wasn’t listed online.) 

There isn’t much to say on this brush. It’s nice and soft, and I like to use it to apply eyeshadow on my lower lash line, and to smudge out eyeliner on the lash line. Ultimately, it’s a good brush, and I’m always happy to add another good brush to my arsenal.

And finally, after what seems like an incredibly long post, the last product I received was the Avene Micellar Lotion Cleanser and Makeup Remover.

avene.jpg(Sample size. Full size retails for $32) 

I am a big fan of micellar waters, as they not only remove makeup, but they help cleanse the skin and leave it feeling moisturized, which is great for every day as a precursor to your skin care routine, or for a quick one-and-done for those lazy nights that we all have.

This works decently, and does leave my skin feeling good, but it is honestly nothing special when it comes to micellar waters, and had a hard time removing my mascara, which wasn’t waterproof, and ended up breaking my skin out pretty badly.

My favorite micellar water that I’ve used is the Boots Botanics Micellar Water, and that is only $8 for 8.4 oz. The Avene water is $32 for 13 oz, so I’d much rather continue using my Boots micellar water, as you’re getting more bang for your buck. But if you have had your eye on the Avene water, it is good, but no better than my current favorite.

So my ultimate thoughts on this bag; it’s not my favorite. Usually we get at least 1 full sized high end product, and this month, the only full sized items were the Pacifica eyeshadow trio ($7.99), the Glamour Dolls gloss ($1.99), and the brush. I still made up for the total cost of the bag, but not by much.

And finally, that’ll be it for today! If you’ve liked this post, be sure to subscribe to receive email notifications for my future posts!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

*This is my personal Ipsy referral link. If you’re not interested in using that, just visit www.ipsy.com

**This post is NOT sponsored. All products were purchased myself.

 

One thought on “May 2016 Ipsy Unbagging + Review

Leave a Reply

