Monthly Favorites – May 2016

Welcome back!

Today we are doing what we do at this time every month; talk about the products I was loving!

Starting with skincare, which I don’t always mention in these posts. The first product I have to talk about is the Boots Botanics Micellar Water.

IMG_5203.jpg ($7.49) 

I briefly mentioned this in my May Ipsy bag review, but if you’re not familiar with micellar waters, they’re basically makeup remover/cleanser/skincare all in one, which is great if you’re lazy like me. I use this to remove my makeup, and occasionally as just a quick cleanser,and it is by far the best makeup remover I’ve tried yet. It takes off all of my makeup instantly, even waterproof mascara. Doesn’t sting my eyes at all, and actually does help to give my skin a little extra hydration. So if you’re looking for a product like this, run to your local Ulta or Target and pick this up!

Next up for skincare, the Little Pea Soaps Breast Milk Rose Clay Coal Facial Soap.

Breast Milk Rose Coal Facial Soap.jpg (Sample size. Full size is 4 oz for $10) 

If you caught the first part of my review on Little Pea Soaps products, you’ll know that I RAVED about how much I loved this product, and I really wasn’t joking. If you missed that post, I definitely suggest checking it out, as there will be a lot more information on that post about this product than I’ll go into on here.

Basically, I was freaked out about this product and was afraid to use it. The idea of breast milk in a soap made me highly uncomfortable. But I’m so glad I got over myself and tried it out because this is by FAR the best facial soap I have ever used, and most likely will ever use. For those wondering, it is completely safe and hygienic to use, and for only $10, it’s a total steal. This has single-handedly changed the life of my skin. My skin is much more hydrated, my texture is evened out, and my redness has been reduced. This is such a phenomenal product from a phenomenal company, and I strongly recommend this for anyone with dry or problem skin.

My favorites this month have really been geared towards healthy, glowy skin, so most of my products are face products this month, so let’s start out with my favorite new foundation, the Hard Candy Glamoflauge Foundation.

hc2 ($7)

I did an entire review on this foundation, so I’m not going to go into too much detail, but I LOVE this. The shade (Porcelain) is a perfect match for my skin, builds up to full, flawless coverage, lasts all day, and doesn’t dry my skin out at all. This is a fantastic foundation for dry skin, and this might be taking over my Maybelline Matte + Poreless for my favorite foundation.

Next up for face products, I wore the L’Oreal True Match Lumi Liquid Highlight in “Ice” every single day.

true match lumi highlight.jpg ($12.99) 

This is a REALLY intense liquid highlighter, so I’ve been using this on the high points of my face (cheekbones, bridge of the nose, cupids bow, etc) under my foundation to really amp up the glow on my face without looking greasy.

ice swatch.jpg

“Ice” is a pinky-white highlight, which I think would look best on fair-light skin. If you are darker, there are two more shades more suitable for your skin tone.

This is such a great highlight, and if you like glowy skin, I recommend picking this up in one of the three shades.

Staying with the highlights, I’ve fallen back in love with my Elf Cosmetics Baked Highlighter in “Moonlight Pearl”

Elf Moonlight Pearl.jpg ($3) 

The packaging has seen better days, but that is because this is the first highlighter I ever purchased, so she’s special to me. But beyond that, it’s really a fantastic highlighter, especially for fair skin.

elf moonlight pearls watch.jpg

This adds a beautiful champagne glow to the skin, and can easily be used as a subtle highlight, or built up to be very intense. When layered over the L’Oreal liquid highlight I mentioned above, it just screams summer to me, and I’m glad I rediscovered this.

Okay, last highlighting product, I promise,although this one is a little different, the Wet ‘n Wild Megaglo Dual Ended Contour Stick.

wnw contour stick.jpg ($4.68)

This is a double ended cream stick with a contour shade on one end, and a matte highlight on the other side.

contour stick (My shade is Light-Medium) 

Now this is not the type of shimmery, light reflective highlight I was talking about earlier. This is a completely matte shade used to highlight the center of the face (under the eyes, etc.). For my skin tone, it adds a very subtle highlight, once blended out it’s very close to the color of my skin.

contour stick swatch.jpg

The contour shade is great for my skin tone, and both sides are very creamy and easy to blend. I’ve used this under and over my foundation, and have gotten a beautiful, natural result each time. I’m really impressed with this, and will continue to use it. If you’re looking for an affordable cream contouring product, look no further!

The last face product I’m going to talk about today is the Elf Cosmetics Contouring Blush and Bronzing Powder in the shade “Fiji”.

contouring blush and bronzing.jpg($3)  

There are three shades in this line, but “Fiji” is the only matte option.

I rarely wear an actual bronzer, much less a blush, because my skin is so fair. But as you can see, I’ve actually managed to hit pan on this bronzer.

bronzer swatch.jpg

This is such a great bronzer and blush duo for fair skin, as it’s very pigmented, but doesn’t look orange or muddy on the skin. I can actually get away with using a little bronzer and blush in the summer, and this is what I’ve been reaching for nearly every day this month!

Finally done with the face products, we only have two eye products to talk about. I was really into simple, matte eyes this month, so I used my Elf Cosmetics Mad For Matte Eyeshadow Palette every single day.

mad for matte 2.jpg ($10)

I’ve talked about this palette ad nauseam, because it is my go-to must have palette. It has everything you need for a complete eye look, or to pair up with other single shadows.

mad for matte swatches.jpg

All shadows are matte, obviously. They’re super creamy, pigmented, and blend really easily. I just cannot imagine not having this to rely on in my collection, and I can’t (and won’t) stop using this.

Alright, last product we’re going to talk about this month is the Covergirl Super Sizer Fibers Mascara.

super sizer fibers.jpg ($7.49)  

This is another product that I did an entire review for , so check it out to get more in depth info about this, but to keep it short, this is my new favorite mascara. I am very against fiber mascaras as a general rule, but the fibers in this are completely undetectable and really lengthen and thicken my lashes.

PicMonkey Collage2 (My before and after with this mascara…pretty impressive!)  

I love how this makes my lashes look, and I will absolutely repurchase this when I run out.

And finally, that’ll be it for today’s post!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post, and be sure to sign up for email notifications (especially because there will be some exciting things coming very soon for those who do!), and let me know what you’ve been loving this month, and if we have any of the same favorites!

Be sure to check back tomorrow for a makeup look done using these products.

Thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha.

 

*This post is NOT sponsored. The Covergirl mascara and Breast Milk Rose Clay Coal soap were sent to me, all other products were purchased myself.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

