Affordable Summer Lip Picks!

Welcome back!

Today’s post is all about my top picks for affordable summer lip products!

arm swatches.jpg (Just a little preview…) 

I’ve divided these up into 3 categories with three individual products each; lip gloss, cream lipsticks, and matte lipsticks. I knew that I had to really narrow these down, or we’d be here all day!

So without further ado, let’s start with my first lip gloss pick, the Nyx Butter Gloss in “Tiramisu”.

Nyx Tirimasu.jpg ($4.99)

This is an all time favorite of mine. Not only in color, but formula. This is the perfect pink-brown gloss that is just opaque enough, and not sticky in the slightest.

tirmasu lip swatch.jpg

This is basically a “my lips but better” shade by itself, as shown in the swatch above. But I really love layering this over a pink or nude lip liner for an easy lip look, which is perfect to pair with colorful summer eyes.

If you’ve never tried a Nyx Butter Gloss, I highly suggest doing so, and pick up Tiramisu!

Next up for lip glosses, an unexpected favorite for me, the Covergirl Lip Lava in “Mango Lava”. 

covergirl lip lava ($7.99) 

I have typically not been a fan of Covergirl lip products as a general rule, but I picked this one up because I couldn’t get over how unique this color is.

lip lava close up

This is a bright, electric orange with hot pink shimmers throughout it. As for the formula, it’s very opaque, but very creamy, and isn’t sticky at all. The sparkles do stick around on your lips though, but are easily removed by makeup remover or water. Orange is my absolute favorite color to wear for summer, so I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to share this with you!

covergirl lip lava swatch

I typically like to layer this over the Essence Lip Liner in “Femme Fatale”, but it’s beautiful on its own!

Last gloss in the category is the Glamour Dolls Gloss Snob in “Twirl”.

Gloss Snob in Twirl.jpg ($1.99)  

If this rings a bell to you, it’s because I received it in my May Ipsy Bag, and though I’m not a huge fan of the packaging, was happy with the gloss. The color is absolutely stunning, but the main reason I’m mentioning this is that it’s also very multifaceted. You can apply this lightly on bare lips for a baby pink gloss, over a lip liner to add color and shine, or apply it heavily by itself for a hot watermelon gloss; and for only $1.99, you can’t beat it!

gloss snob lip swatch.jpg (Applied lightly with my finger) 

Moving on to our next category, cream lipsticks. I separated cream and matte finishes because mattes are clearly very on trend right now, so if you’re not interested in creams (or vice versa) you can just skip ahead.

First cream lipstick we’ll talk about is the Nyx Butter Lipstick in “Hunk”.

Nyx HUNK.jpg ($5.99) 

I’ve mentioned the Butter Lipsticks before, they’re exactly what they sound like; very creamy, hydrating lip products. They’re very  buildable, and can be worn sheer for a wash of color, or be built up to be very opaque, and has a beautiful glossy finish.

Nyx hunk lip swatch.jpg

If you’re someone who is scared to wear a lot of color, I think this lipstick is a perfect place to start experimenting with fun lip colors. This is a very wearable purple/fuchsia that I think is beautiful on every skin tone, especially those with a deeper complexion. So for those of you who may be afraid of the other colors I may talk about today, give this one a try!

My next cream lipstick pick is the Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in “Ravish Me Red”.

revlon ravish me red 2.jpg ($8.49)

If you’re a fan of American Horror Story like I am…you’ll know why I obviously had to have this lipstick (and that Asylum was the best season yet…). But beyond that, this is a beautiful warm, orange red that is just ridiculously stunning.

ravish me red swatch.jpg

This is supremely comfortable on the lips, and has great staying power. This is such a great summer red, and I’ll definitely be wearing it a lot!

Last cream lipstick on the agenda today is the Elf Cosmetics Moisturizing Lipstick in “Coral Cutie”.

Coral Cutie.jpg ($3) 

The name is very fitting, and this is so incredibly comfortable, it feels like you’re wearing nothing at all, yet is very pigmented and packs a lot of punch color wise. As for the color, it’s a light peachy coral that just screams summer to me, and looks especially good on those of you who are fortunate enough to get a tan (I burn, turn into a human lobster, and then go right back to being snow white.) I am a huge fan of Elf, and this would make a great addition to your collection!

Onto our last category, matte lipsticks, a trend that has absolutely dominated the beauty industry in the last year, matte liquid lipsticks especially. So it wouldn’t be right not to include one in this list, so I had to go with the Nyx Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick.

nyx liquid suefe.jpg ($6.99) 

If you haven’t noticed yet, I am a huge fan of basically every Nyx lip product, this being no exception. This is not your typical very drying liquid lipstick. This does dry down to a matte finish, and lasts exceptionally well, but is not completely transfer resistant. With that being said, I am willing to deal with a little transfer to have comfort.

This color in particular (Pink Lust) is way out of my typical comfort zone, but I actually really like it. This is a neon bright pink, and definitely not for the faint of heart.

nyx pink lust .jpg

This is a really fun color all on it’s own, but I particularly like using it with a purple or berry lip liner to deepen it up a little bit. If you are someone who loves electric pink, this is the lipstick for you!

Next product I have to share with you is the Elf Cosmetics Matte Lip Color in “Berry Sorbet”.

matte lip color elf.jpg ($3) 

I’ve mentioned these before in my Top Ten Elf Cosmetic Products blog post, so I won’t go into too much detail here. Basically, these are very creamy lip pencils with a comfortable matte finish. Berry Sorbet is along the lines of the Nyx “Hunk” color I mentioned before, it’s very wearable, yet still fun for the hot summer months.

berry sorbet.jpg

These have wonderful staying power, and are easily one of the most comfortable matte lipstick formulas I’ve ever come across. They’re not a flat matte, they still retain a tiny bit of shine for dimension. But they’re beautiful nonetheless.

And our last lip product we’ll talk about today is the Maybelline Color Blur in “Orange Ya Glad”.

maybelline color blur.jpg ($8.99) 

This is a matte lip pencil that has a smudger on the end to create a “reverse ombre” effect, but I typically just use the pencil as is and I love it.

This is a fully matte, opaque, creamy bright true orange. I am completely in love with the formula, and wish I could find more of these in my area, but I think I’ll just have to cave and pick some up online.

Maybelline has a fantastic matte formula, if you’re familiar with their creamy mattes, this is a very similar feel on the lips.

maybelline color blur swatch.jpg

This is probably my #1 summer lipstick pick, and if you purchase anything you see on this post, I suggest this one above all else! Orange was a color that I was really intimidated by in the past, but once I really started wearing it, it became my favorite bold lipstick shade.

arm swatches2.0.jpg

So I hope this has been helpful for those of you who are looking for some fun affordable summer lip products, and maybe this will give you the inspiration to step out of your comfort zone and try something fun! Tell me which one of these lip products you liked the most, and what your favorite summer lip has been!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post, and be sure to sign up for email notifications, because there is something very exciting coming very soon for those who do!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

 

 

*This post is NOT sponsored. All products were purchased myself.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

