The Monthly Meow: Solid Gold Holistic Delight Creamy Bisque with Tuna & Coconut Milk

Welcome back to our next installment of the Monthly Meow!

If you’re new here, this is where we talk about and review one kitty product once a month courtesy of Chewy.com!

muffin.jpg

This month was a little different than others, because Daechir had herself a little solo adventure.

I’ve never gone into Daechir’s story, and what led us to having her (If you are interested in that, let me know!) but basically, she’s strictly an indoor cat for a lot of reasons. We take her outside on a harness, but she really does not have any outdoor skills to speak of. So this month during a pretty good storm, a door opened and Daechir snuck out. We noticed at about 10 that she wasn’t in sight, so being the crazy cat woman I am, I immediately went into a panic.

Long story short, I looked for her from about 10 until 8 am the next morning, and learned that it is in fact possible for a human being to cry for 10 hours straight. We live in a very rural town, right next to a highway, so my biggest concern was other animals (Daechir is  very small, she weights about 4 lbs and she’s 3 years old)  or her getting hit by car.

Finally, after much prayer, and many tears, I heard her meow from an old abandoned building across the street from our house (which I searched several times, I must add), ran over there, called to her, and she ran right into my arms. She looked like a drowned rat, stunk to high heaven, and had a few scratches, but she was totally okay, and we’re both very happy she’s home.

So with that being said, we had a very eventful month. Luckily, before her little adventure, we were able to try out the Pure Gold Holistic Delights Creamy Bisque with Tuna & Coconut Milk food pouches.

Holistic Delights.jpg  (This case of 12 3 oz pouches retails for $14.28 at Chewy.com, making Chewy the most affordable place to purchase this product.) 

Holistic Delights cat food.jpg

The box that the food is shipped in converts into a very useful container for the pouches, which is a bonus. Now, onto the details of the food itself.

PicMonkey Collagefood 2.jpg

Some of the key benefits of this product:

  • Shredded tuna meat in a creamy coconut bisque
  • Single portions in an easy-to-serve pouch
  • Grain-free and gluten-free recipe
  • No corn, wheat, soy or artificial colors or flavors
  • Suited for all life stages  

(Copied from Chewy.com description)  

There are several other flavors available, this is just one of many.

So I really like the holistic aspect of this food. I love knowing exactly what goes into my cat’s food, with no unnecessary chemicals or questionable ingredients.

fud.jpg

Here’s how it looks out of the package. “Creamy bisque” is a really accurate description of this. Now this isn’t necessarily that important, but it should be noted that the smell is very strong, bordering on offensive. Cat food never particularly smells delicious, but I got a little of this on my hand and didn’t notice for awhile, and when I caught a whiff of it I literally gagged. It’s not even a strong fishy smell like one would expect, it’s just really hard to describe, but it’s far from pleasant.

With that being said, I could get past the scent if my cat liked it, but unfortunately, she doesn’t.

I’ve mentioned before that Daechir is really, really picky with her food. For almost 3 years, she refused to eat anything that wasn’t Fancy Feast. She wouldn’t touch it, and would literally rather starve herself because she’s a huge drama queen. Then, out of nowhere, she decided she doesn’t like Fancy Feast anymore and will only eat Friskies. I have no idea why she is like this, but she’s weird (This is the same cat that woke me up in the middle of the night because her food had collected to the sides of her bowl and she needed me to push it back into the middle….I’m ashamed to say I actually did it.)

I tried to feed this to her 5 times. The 5th time she actually tasted it, gave it a few licks, and then completely lost interest. I’ve just concluded that she doesn’t like it, and I’m not going to force her to eat it.

There’s an abandoned house down the street from my place where a lot of neighborhood cats hang out to do cat stuff, so I put some of this food out in a disposable bowl for the cats over there to see if anyone would eat it. When I checked in the morning, the entire bowl was GONE. I don’t mean the food inside of it, I mean the bowl itself. Nowhere to be seen. Kind of creeped me out honestly. So someone or something apparently really liked it, enough to steal the entire bowl.

Just because my cat didn’t love it, doesn’t mean that yours won’t. My cat is supremely picky, and this food has really great reviews on Chewy.com. If you’ve been thinking about getting it, definitely pick it up and try it, and see if your cat loves it!

I really wish I could say more about this food, but I think the quality of it is excellent, and if you’re looking for a good holistic wet food that’s affordable, give this a try!

And  that’ll be it for this month’s Monthly Meow! It was kind of a crazy, but I’m glad Daechir and I were able to bring you this month’s review! If you’ve liked this post and want to see more, be sure to subscribe or follow!

As always, thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

*This product was sent to me for review purposes by Chewy.com. All thoughts are 100% my own and honest.

 

 

Leave a Reply

