L’Oréal Pure Clay Masks – Review!

Welcome back!

I’m back from my brief hiatus to bring you a review all about the new L’Oreal Pure Clay Face Masks!

loreal pure clay masks

There are 3 masks in this collection, all for different skin types and concerns, all retailing for $12.99. (some retailers may vary, I’ll link the most affordable one I can find.)

pure clay

These are packaged in a glass container with a plastic lid and stamper inside to keep the product from leaking into the lid.

These are said to weigh in at 1.7 oz, but I’m really not sure how accurate that is. With the packaging being a bulky glass jar, I really sincerely doubt that there’s 1.7 oz of product in these. Not to mention, all of the jars are not even remotely close to being full. There seems to be some sort of air bubble in every jar that really takes away from the product, that you’ll see in the close up pictures. Because of that aspect of these, I really think that these are overpriced.

My favorite masks are the Freeman Masks available at Ulta and most drugstores, and those come in at $4.29 for 6 oz. If you break down the prices, the L’Oreal masks cost $7.54 per oz, where the Freeman Feeling Beautiful masks cost about $0.72 per oz, making the L’Oreal masks over 10 times more expensive. Yikes. After comparing the ingredients, the L’Oreal ingredients really don’t differ in ingredients themselves or quality.

So with all of these details out of the way, let’s get into the masks themselves.

Starting with my least favorite mask of the group, the Exfoliate & Refine Clay Mask.

red algae collage.jpg

This mask is infused with red algae and exfoliating particles to exfoliate skin and minimize pores.

This doesn’t dry down as much as the others do, and the exfoliating particles are not only not abrasive enough for me, but they’re really difficult to remove from the skin. I had to scrub my skin really hard to get the particles off, and even then I still had them everywhere.

This did leave my skin feeling relatively soft, but I haven’t noticed anything particularly wonderful. I don’t think this mask is bad, but I also really don’t think that it’s worth the $12.99 price tag when my Freeman Charcoal & Black Sugar Facial Polishing Mask does the same thing but better and for $8.69 less.

Moving on, the Purify & Mattify Mask.

eucalyptus collage.jpg

This mask is infused with eucalyptus, and claims to mattify and tighten the skin, absorbing excess oils and leaving the skin feeling pure and fresh.

This mask really did help purify my skin. I used this after I had been hiking all day, and it really helped soothe my skin without overdrying it. Typically when I hear the term “mattifying”, I run the other way due to my very dry skin. But I actually found this to be really gentle and really did what it claimed to do. My skin felt really nice after using it. Does that justify the price for me? No. I do like this, and I will continue to use it, but I think the Feeling Beautiful Mint & Lemon Clay mask has the same effect for a smaller price tag.

The final mask in this line is the Detox & Brighten Mask.

charcoal collage

Out of all of the masks, this is my favorite, and the one I think is actually worth it’s price. This goes on really smooth and opaque, and once it dries you can physically see where it’s pulling impurities from the skin. This not only makes my skin feel good, but I see a noticeable difference in how my skin looks. After using this, my skin looks brighter and my skin texture is reduced.  My skin loves activated charcoal, and this is no exception.

If I were to recommend any of these masks, it would definitely be this one. None of these masks are bad, but this is the one that I have yet to find a match for, so if you’re looking for a new clay mask, this is one I definitely suggest checking out!

With that being said, that’ll be the end of today’s post! I hope you’ve enjoyed it, and don’t forget to sign up for email notifications of my future posts!

And as always,

thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

*This post is NOT sponsored. These masks were sent to me free of charge by L’Oreal via Bzzagent. Some links are affiliates.

 

2 thoughts on “L’Oréal Pure Clay Masks – Review!

Leave a Reply

