AFFORDABLE Skincare Routine for Dry Skin!

Welcome back!

Today, we’ll be talking all about my affordable skincare routine for dry skin! If you’ve been here for any length of time, you’d know that I have severely dry skin and really struggle with keeping my skin hydrated. I also have redness and a lot of skin texture due to my KP. With that in mind, let’s get into the products!

As everyone should, I always start out my skincare routine by removing my makeup. I truly believe one of the worst things you can do to your skin is not removing your makeup by the end of the day. Even if you’re exhausted, always take it off before bed!

My current favorite product to use for this is the Boots Botanics All Bright Micellar Cleanser.

IMG_5203($7.49) 

I’ve mentioned this in my May Favorites post, and I’m still really loving it. Micellar waters have become very popular due to their convenience. If you’re strapped for time or just too tired to do your entire skincare routine, you can use just this. I have done that, and as it does work, my skin requires more hydration than this can give on it’s own. However, using it as it’s intended, this removes my makeup wonderfully, without leaving my skin feeling dry and stripped. This actually removes waterproof mascara like it’s nothing, and doesn’t irritate my eyes at all. Definitely my favorite makeup remover I’ve found yet, so if you’re in the market for a new one, check this one out!

Once my makeup is off, I use my favorite facial soap, the Little Pea Soaps Breast Milk Rose Clay Charcoal Facial Soap.

breast milk soap.jpg ($10, just sold out,I will update when it’s back!)

I’ve talked all about this soap, as well as its interesting ingredients in a monthly favorites posts, and a full review on several Little Pea Soaps products, so if you’re interested in more in depth information about this, check those posts out. Basically this is packed with amazing ingredients that all benefit dry, problem skin. I really believe anyone could use this, but I can only speak to my experiences with it.

This soap has single handedly changed my skin. My skin is not nearly as dry as it once was, my redness and texture are reduced, basically every skin problem I face this tackles. I swear there’s some kind of magic in this product, and I basically panic if I run low. Long story short, I really think if you have issues with your skin that this product could really help!

Next, this is typically the time I’ll use a mask on my skin if necessary, so I’ll share some of my favorites for different needs.

My favorite exfoliating mask is the Freeman Feeling Beautiful Charcoal & Black Sugar Facial Polishing Mask.

mask collage.jpg ($4.29) 

This is an excellent exfoliator, especially if you need something a little more abrasive.If you’ve got very sensitive skin, this may not be for you. But this does the trick for me!

My favorite masks for days where I’m breaking out a little is the Freeman Feeling Beautiful Mint & Lemon Mask.

PicMonkey mask 2.jpg ($4.29) 

This mask really helps stop blemishes in their tracks! If you’ve got oily skin, definitely check this out! I don’t find that this dries my skin out more than necessary for drying up breakouts, but I do think it’s necessary to follow up with a moisturizer.

Lastly, my favorite mask for when my skin just feels off is the new L’Oreal Pure Clay Detox & Brighten Mask.

charcoal collage ($12.99) 

If you missed my review on the full L’Oreal Pure Clay line, clink the link for more info. This mask really helps pull toxins from my skin, and just makes my skin feel much less congested. I do see my skin looking visibly brighter after using this too!

Once I’ve removed my mask, I always moisturize. This is probably the most important step for me (besides removing my makeup). My skin is so dry that if I were to skip this, my skin would not only look awful, it would feel awful. My favorite moisturizer is the Cetaphil Moisturizing Cream.

cetaphil.jpg (This size retails for $15.49, the smaller size is $9.99) 

This is the only moisturizer I’ve ever used that has kept my skin hydrated and smooth. I know people with oily skin that love this too, so I really think it’s a great moisturizer for everyone. I have the massive size, so whenever I run out, I will definitely repurchase!

After using my moisturizer, I’d typically follow up with my eye cream. I’m not using one I’m crazy about right now, so I won’t be mentioning a specific product, but I do think this is a crucial step!

To finish up my skin, I never fail to use a little of my Now Foods Organic 100% Pure Jojoba Oil.

jojoba oil.jpg ($10.95) 

I’ve talked about my jojoba oil plenty of times, but I swear by it. Jojoba oil most closely mimics the skin’s natural oils, so since my skin is really lacking in that, I use this to replace those oils my skin fails to produce. You can also use this on your hair and body, and it works super wonderfully! If your skin needs a little extra boost, I highly recommend jojoba oil.

To finish up my skincare routine, I will typically exfoliate my lips using the Elf Cosmetics Lip Exfoliator.

Lip exfoliator.jpg ($3; original scent) 

This is supremely easy to use, since it’s in this lipstick format. This is just abrasive enough to really clean up the dead, chapped skin on your lips, without overdoing it. This is super affordable, works well, and comes in 3 different scents!

And to finish up all of my skincare, I have to end with a lip balm. My current favorite is the Replenish Soap Company Lip Balm.

20160718_012956.png ($3) 

Peppermint is my personal favorite, but there are plenty of others to chose from! These really moisturize my lips like nothing else I’ve ever used. These just sink into my lips and keep them hydrated and smooth. I’ve already used up 2 of them, and am dying to get my hands on another!

So that’s my skincare routine. I hope this has been helpful for anyone with my skin type who’s struggling to find products that will keep your skin hydrated and in great shape.

If you’ve enjoyed this post, be sure to subscribe for future posts; and as always, thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

