The Monthly Meow: Cat-Man-Doo Extra Large Dried Bonito Flakes for Cats & Dogs!

Welcome back!

Today is our July edition of The Monthly Meow, where our guest, Daechir, helps us review a pet friendly product courtesy of Chewy.com!

bb.jpg (Exclusive photos of intense cuddles)

July has been a busy month for us, as I’m sure it was for everyone! We had family here for the 4th, and took an impromptu trip to Mt.Rushmore!

Luckily, we had plenty of time to try out the Cat-Man-Doo Bonito Flakes!

bonito flakes.jpg (This retails for $19.48 on Chewy.com, making it the cheapest place to purchase this product.) 

Unlike all of the other products I typically talk about, these are suitable for both cats and dogs, and that’s because all that’s in it is fish. Yep, just dried bonito tuna flakes. No preservatives, no additives, just fish.

catmandoo.jpg

This is the extra large flakes in a 4 oz bag, but there is an alternative with crushed dried flakes called “sprinkles” that comes in a 2.5 oz bottle, if you’re more interested in that.

This is meant to be used as a treat, or as a meal additive. So if your pet is a finicky eater like Daechir, the smell of this is very enticing for them, so you can sprinkle a few flakes onto their food to really stimulate their appetites.

flakes vs hand.jpg

As you can see, the flakes are pretty large. Not all of them are this size, and are very easily crushed, but that really isn’t a big deal to me. I don’t mind if they’re more sprinkles than flakes.

One thing that really needs to be mentioned is that these have a very strong scent. I find it pretty offensive, but my boyfriend says it smells like smoked salmon and it doesn’t bother him. After giving these to Daechir, my hands will reek like these so I wash them pretty much immediately.  Ultimately, it’s not a huge deal because Daechir loves the smell.

flakes

If you’ve been reading The Monthly Meow for any length of time, you’d know that Daechir is very picky. Her favorite treats are Temptations, and she doesn’t even usually give other treats the time of day. But I’m happy to report that she is really a fan of them. She can smell the open bag from a mile away and comes running.

I ask her if she wants some “stinky fish flakes”(what they’ve been dubbed at our home) and she knows exactly what I’m talking about, and goes nuts, as you can see in THIS video from my Instagram!

From an owner’s standpoint, I think this is really a great product. Daechir loves them, they’re useful as not only treats, but as a food additive and appetite stimulant.  I’m also really impressed with how straightforward it is. There’s no concern for harmful ingredients, it’s just dried fish.

As for Daechir’s thoughts, she’s a big fan.Which says a lot, since she’s so particular about her treats and food. This is actually something I see myself repurchasing, because I think if we run out with no backups, there may be mutiny in the ranks.

And that’ll be it for today’s post! Thank you to Chewy for giving us the opportunity to do this every month, we always have fun trying out the products and adding  new things to Daechir’s life!

If you’ve never ordered from Chewy, I strongly recommend doing so. I have never shopped with a company that has better customer service than they do. Before I ever blogged with them, I was and still am a shopper. So I don’t just say this because we do this every month. Every time I have an interaction with anyone on the Chewy team, I am so impressed by how they connect with and truly care about all of their customers. People I have referred to Chewy have nothing but good things to say. So don’t just take my word for it, make an order and experience it for yourself, because I guarantee you’ll be a happy customer.

And as always, thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

*This post is NOT sponsored. Chewy sent me this product for an honest review, all thoughts and opinions expressed are 100% my own.

Leave a Reply

