July 2016 Ipsy Unbagging + Review

Welcome back!

Once again, we’re here to take a look at this month’s *Ipsy bag! If you’ve missed all of my other posts, Ipsy is a $10/month subscription service that sends 4-5 personalized cosmetics and beauty products to your door every month.

ipsy bag 1.jpg

This month’s theme is Hot Summer Nights, and I’m so into this bag. Normally I’m not a fan of the bags, but I love this one. The holo design is stunning, and I see myself actually using this, instead of just throwing it in a drawer and forgetting about it. Now, let’s get into what’s in this bag!

The first thing I pulled out of the bag this month was the BeFine Night Cream.

befine.jpg (Not sure of the full size price, website is not particularly user friendly.) 

We’ve gotten products from BeFine before in previous Ipsy bags, but I’m really not crazy about this. If you’ve got more normal skin, this might be something that will work for you. For me, this just doesn’t pack enough hydration for my skin. This also made my skin feel very textured and gross. I just don’t see myself using this, and will definitely not purchase a full size.

The next product I pulled out of the bag was TheBalm Meet Matt(e) Trimony Eyeshadow in “Matt Moskowitz”.

meet matte trimony.jpg (This is a sample from the Meet Matt(e) Trimony palette, which retails for $42) 

This is my first time working with a shadow from TheBalm, and I don’t dislike it.But for the price of the full palette, I would expect it to be more pigmented and blendable. The color is beautiful, but I found it to be kind of patchy and hard to blend.

matt moskowitz swatch.jpg

You can even see in the swatch that it’s patchy. I can’t speak on the quality of the entire palette, but if every shade is like this one, I’d skip on it.

I was ridiculously excited to pull the Too Faced Hangover Primer out of this bag!

hangoverx.jpg (Sample size; full size retails for $32) 

This primer is a cult favorite, especially for those with drier skin types. This has a lot of skin nourishing ingredients like coconut water to help replenish and hydrate dry, dull skin. This has a lotion consistency, which is my personal favorite for primers, and smells vaguely of coconuts, so I won’t complain about that.

This really did make my skin feel hydrated, and added some much needed luminosity. However, I’m not really sure its worth the $32 price tag. I do like it, and I’m happy to have it, but I find it very comparable to the Maybelline Blur + Illuminate Primer, and I might actually like that one more. If anyone’s interested, maybe I’ll do a comparison post between these two. In the end though, I do really like this.

Last cosmetics product in the bag is the Model Launcher Felt Tip Liner in “Emerald Isle”.

model launcher emerald isle.jpg (Full size; retails for $13) 

I have a pretty extensive makeup collection, however, I can say that I didn’t have an emerald green liquid liner. This product has changed that.

emerald isle swatch.jpg

This is a very rich emerald shade, as the name implies. The felt tip applicator is very thin and easy to work with, and makes it easy to create a very fine line. As you can see in the swatch, this bleeds really easily. I didn’t notice it happening on the eyes though, but it should be mentioned nonetheless.

ipsy eye collage.jpg (This is a quick look I did using the Matt Moskowitz shade we talked about earlier, and the felt tip liner.)  

This applied beautifully and was noticeably green, but not overwhelming. If you’re looking to amp up your liner with a little color but not obnoxiously so, this could be a great product for you.

This isn’t something I’ll be using daily due to the shade, but I’m really fond of the formula and may purchase a more wearable shade.

The last product I received in this month’s bag is the Sedona Lace EB13 Brush.

sedona lace eb13.jpg ($13.95) 

Brushes are never something I go out of my way to purchase, specifically because they’re kind of boring. So I love getting different brushes in my Ipsy bag to try out, and this one is amazing.

I’ve heard Sedona Lace brushes raved about often, but never tried one until now, and I’m really impressed. This is affordable, very soft, blends my shadows beautifully, and hasn’t shed at all. I have nothing bad to say about it, and I’m really happy to add it to my brush collection.

And that’s it for this month’s Ipsy bag! This is probably one of the best bags I’ve gotten in awhile, so I’m glad to see Ipsy stepping it up a little!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post, and if you have Ipsy, what was your favorite product this month?

As always, thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

*This is my personal Ipsy referral link. If you’re not interested in using that, just visit www.ipsy.com

**This post is NOT sponsored. All products were purchased myself.

 

 

Leave a Reply

