NEW Too Faced Born This Way Concealer – Review!

Welcome back!

Today we’re talking all about one of the newest concealers to hit the market, the Too Faced Born This Way Concealer.

born this way concealer box.jpg

This is the concealer counterpart to the very popular Born This Way Foundation, which I haven’t personally tried, but has excellent reviews.

born this way

This claims to provide a natural, undetectable, creaseless, smooth finish, and provides a flawless ‘no makeup’ look”, and show improvement in skin moisture levels. This has a lot of  skin nourishing ingredients such as coconut water and alpine rose.

First thing we should probably talk about is the price. Typically, I feature affordable products on this blog, but I also like to get my hands on new releases to share my thoughts. This concealer retails for a whopping $28. However it’s pretty on par with most higher end concealers. Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer is $29, Urban Decay Naked Skin is $28, so on and so forth.

I find the shade range to be very limited. With 10 shades in the line, I’m kind of shocked that these don’t cater to more skintones. I really doubt the deepest shade is actually deep enough for everyone, and “Very Fair” is just barely workable for me.

tfbtw.jpg (Shade: Very Fair)  

As you can see, this shade isn’t a match for me, nor is it light enough to highlight. The swatch may be a tiny bit deceiving, but this is actually too dark for me. I can make it work by setting it with a light colored powder, which is what I’ve been doing.

btw wand.jpg

The applicator is actually really nice. It’s a typical doe foot, but is very soft and flexible, making it great for getting into those hard-to-reach spots around the eyes.

As for the coverage, I find it to be really nice for my personal needs. I do have dark circles, and since my skin is very light, they look a bit darker than they probably are. My under eyes are also very dry, as all of my skin is, so I tend to struggle with concealers looking very cakey and creasing easily.

This does live up to it’s claim to being very hydrating, and it does have a dewy finish if it’s not set. Even though my skin is very dry, I always set my under eyes because they’ll crease regardless of how great the concealer is.

Here’s my before and after using only the concealer:

btw before and after.jpg

As you can see, this is totally adequate coverage for me. I typically bring my shadows down pretty far on my lower lash line,  so if a tiny bit of darkness is peeking out, I really don’t mind. I also have pretty intense veining on my eyelids, and this does help to conceal them. Doesn’t totally cancel them out, but my shadow covers that, so not a big deal.

This lasts really well, but I do find that this cannot be layered, as it will get cakey really fast. It’s pretty thick, so my preferred method of blending this concealer out is just using my fingers and maybe a damp sponge. It responds really nicely to the heat of my fingers and blends out effortlessly.

If I use even a little too much of this concealer, it cakes up pretty badly. Less is definitely more with this.

So ultimately, I do really like this product. The coverage is good, and it’s very comfortable on my under eye. I wish the shade range was more accommodating for everyone, but hopefully they’ll release more shades.

That’ll be it for today’s post! I hope you’ve enjoyed it, and will you be picking up this concealer?

As always,

Thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

*This post is NOT sponsored. This was purchased via redeeming my Ipsy points.

 

One thought on “NEW Too Faced Born This Way Concealer – Review!

Leave a Reply

