Monthly Favorites – July 2016

Welcome back!

It’s finally time to talk about the products I was loving during the month of July.

July was a pretty busy month for me, we had some family here for the 4th, and even took a trip to Mt. Rushmore! But all of the festivities did not stop me from wearing makeup and trying new products, so let’s get into it!

Starting with the only non-makeup product this month, the Swirl + Sparkle Solid Brush Cleanser.

swirl and sparkle.jpg (Mini size is $3.99) 

This is a super tiny little sample I received from redeeming some Ipsy points, but I fully intend on purchasing a full size. This is a handmade all natural soap specifically for cleaning your brushes. This scent in particular is Toasted Marshmallow, but there are several different scents and fun designs to choose from on the website.

b4&after.jpg

As you can see, this took a shamefully filthy brush and cleaned it so well in less than a minute. Any makeup wearer knows that washing your brushes tends to feel like a completely insurmountable task, but this product makes it so easy, with great results. Totally recommend checking this out to make brush cleaning a little less painful.

Next face product we’ll talk about is the Too Faced Born This Way Concealer.

born this way ($28, my shade is “Very Fair”)

I’ve done an entire review about this concealer, so I won’t go too in depth here, but I really like this. This has nice, natural coverage that looks hydrated and smooth.  If you’ve been thinking about getting this concealer, I say go for it!

Last up for face products, the Elf Cosmetics Prime & Stay Finishing Powder.

prime and fine powder.jpg ($2, shade: sheer)

Summertime is the only time I can get away with using a little powder on my skin, and this has been my go-to. Powders and dry skin are basically mortal enemies, but this looks completely undetectable on my skin, while setting my makeup and helping to extend the wear beautifully. This actually helps blur my pores, and doesn’t dry my skin out at all. By far the best powder I’ve ever worn.

My first eye favorite has to be the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette.

mr2 ($42)  

Again, I’ve done a full comprehensive review on this palette that you can check out HEREI’ve been wearing this palette basically every chance I get this month. It’s so unique and stunning, and I never get bored playing with it. I strongly recommend this palette to everyone, it’s a total must have!

Next up on the list, the Ardell Soft Touch #162 Lashes.

Ardell Soft Touch 162.jpg ($3.99) 

I did an entire post on my top 5 favorite Ardell lashes, and these came in at #2! These lashes are anything but understated, but they look remarkably natural on the eyes, while bringing a lot of depth and drama to any look they’re paired with.

soft touch 162

Even if you’re a lash novice, or a total expert, I think you’ll love these!

My last favorite I’ll be sharing with you today is the Elf Cosmetics Cream Liner in “Coffee”.

elf cream liner.jpg ($3) 

This is a favorite not as an eyeliner, but as a brow product. A friend of mine mentioned that she loves this for her brows, and I had it sitting around in my collection and had to give it a try. This looks beautiful on my brows, and helps fill in sparse areas without looking dramatic and “drawn on”. Elf does have an actual brow pomade that I intend on getting my hands on, but if you’re like me and have this taking up space in your makeup drawers, try it like this! You’ll be pleasantly surprised. With that being said, a little goes a long way with this guy, so don’t go crazy!

And that’ll be it for today’s post! I hope you’ve enjoyed it, and be sure to tell me what your favorite products were! Also, don’t forget to come back tomorrow to see a makeup look done using all of these great products!

And as always,

Thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

*This post is NOT sponsored, all products were purchased myself.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Monthly Favorites – July 2016

Leave a Reply

