Lipstick Lover TAG!

Welcome back!

Today we’ll be doing a tag that I saw on LipglossLeslie’s YouTube channel and I couldn’t resist trying this one for myself, because it’s all about my favorite thing, lipsticks!  These are a bunch of fun questions all about lipsticks that any lipstick lover will enjoy.

This tag was started by Mallory1712 and WannaMakeup, so be sure to check out their channels to watch the original video.

Without further ado, let’s get into the tag!

1.Most underrated lipstick? 

My pick for this question has to be the Nyx Round Case Lipsticks.

nyx round case.jpg(3.99) 

These are all cream finish lipsticks that come in a large variety of shades.

Nyx Round Case Lipsticks.jpg (Shades: Femme, Snow White, Thalia)

These are very comfortable on the lips, as well as being highly pigmented. There are 44 shades in this line, so there’s definitely a shade for everyone. These are only $4, and I think the quality of these far exceed the price. Even though they’re not new, give these a try! They’re totally worth it.

2. Favorite discontinued lipstick? 

This was a very easy question, definitely the Bite Beauty Luminous Creme Lipstick in “Musk”.

musk 2.jpg

This past year, Bite discontinued their Luminous Creme line, and replaced it with the Amuse Bouche lipsticks and got rid of Musk. Which basically broke my heart into several tiny pieces.

MUSK.jpg

This is the most gorgeous beige nude shade that I think really complimented my skin tone, and the formula was fantastic. If Bite would bring Musk back to their Amuse Bouche line, you better believe I’d be on it immediately!

3. Lipsticks that you have back ups of or have repurchased? 

I kind of have to cheat with this question, specifically because I can’t honestly say I’ve ever completely finished up an entire lipstick. My choice for this one is the lipgloss that I’ll be repurchasing very soon, the Nyx Butter Gloss in “Tiramisu”

Nyx Tirimasu ($4.99) 

I have raved about this product a ton of times, and I have in fact used up my entire tube. This is the first lip product besides a lip balm that I have used in it’s entirety and I will repurchase this the next time I make an order on Ulta’s website.

tiramisu.jpg

This is the perfect nude gloss that works with everything. I even wear this on days I’m not wearing any makeup, just because I love it. The texture is fantastic, very pigmented and not sticky in the slightest. If you’ve never tried a butter gloss, I strongly suggest trying this one first.

4. Favorite lipstick packaging?  

This was kind of hard for me to choose, but I’m going with the Clinique Lip Pop Lipsticks.

20160811_233349.png ($18.50)

There’s something about the simplicity of the packaging that I really like. The mirrored top with Clinique’s logo and the bottom of the tube matching the color of the lipstick inside is just really appealing to me.

Clinique Lip Pop.jpg (Shade: Passion Pop)

These lipsticks are so intensely pigmented, very creamy, and have great lasting power on the lips. If you’re looking to make a bit of a splurge, these are a fantastic option.

5. Favorite liquid lipstick brand? 

I’ve mentioned this before, but I am currently working on doing a HUGE affordable liquid lipstick showdown, so I don’t want to divulge all of that information here. But my current favorite liquid lipsticks are the Hard Candy Velvet Mousse Matte Lip Colors.

HC VM.jpg($6)

These are not your typical liquid lipsticks, as they are a bit thicker, and really live up to their “mousse” namesake.

Hard Candy Velvet Mousse Matte Lip Colors.jpg (Shades: Cherry Blossom, Dahlia)

These go on fully opaque and dry down to  a completely matte finish within 10 minutes. What makes this my current favorite is the comfort level. Matte liquid lipsticks are not known for their comfort, but these don’t dry my lips out at all, and still last through eating and drinking. These are totally worth checking out, and only run you $6, so it’s a win win!

6. Favorite lip combo?

There are tons of lip combos that I love, but my current favorite has to be lining and filling my lips in  with my Essence Soft Berry Lip Liner, and topping it off with the Nyx Lip Lingerie in “Satin Ribbon”. This is the lip combo I was wearing in my July Favorites Makeup Look  post and a lot of people really seemed to like it.

nyx plus essen ce(Essence – $1.99, Nyx – $6.99)

nyx+essence

Satin Ribbon is too light to wear on my lips on its own, but when it’s layered over this liner it becomes this gorgeous lavender sepia kind of color and I just LOVE it!

7. Lipstick that is always in your purse or that you HAVE to take on vacation? 

This was such an easy question for me to answer, definitely the Elf Cosmetics Lip Kiss Balm in “Bare Kiss”.

elf bare kiss.jpg

This is a tinted lip balm that I have with me wherever I go. It’s not only very moisturizing, but the color payoff is excellent.

elf bare kiss lip swatch

The shade is just the perfect warm nude that looks beautiful with every eye look imaginable. I never leave the house without this in my purse!

8. Lipstick that you regret buying? 

Unfortunately, when I read this question the Jordana Modern Matte Lipsticks immediately popped into my head.

Jordana modern mattes.jpg

Now, I don’t say these are regrets because they’re bad products, but I’ve had them for over a year and I have NEVER worn them!

jordana modern mattes2.jpg (Shades: Matte Tease, Matte Classy) 

These are ridiculously gorgeous. I think they’ve just managed to get lost in my collection, and I really need to pull these out and give them some love.

And finally, that will be the end of today’s post! I tag anyone who’s reading to give this a try, and if you do, be sure to let me know on Instagram!

I hope you’ve enjoyed today’s post, and if you have, please be sure to subscribe for more!

And as always,

thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

*This post is NOT sponsored. All products were purchased myself.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

