Monthly Favorites – August 2016

Welcome back!

August is officially a memory as of tomorrow, and we’re on to September! Seems like this summer really flew by (which I’m totally happy about, bring on the Fall!) so we need to talk about my favorite products of August while we still can!

We don’t actually have all that much to talk about, as I was really trying a lot of products and typically went for easy makeup this month. So let’s get into it!

We’ve got a few face products to talk about, so let’s start with the City Color Cosmetics Highlight Trio.

ccc highlight.jpg ($8.99) 

There are two shades of this product, I have Collection #1, as it’s perfect for fair skin. I’ve never found a golden highlight that actually worked with my skintone as well as the one in this trio does. Every single shade is amazing, and I have nothing bad to say about this at all. The powders are versatile so you can get a subtle glow, or some serious hardcore highlight, depending on what you want and how you apply it. There really is something for everyone between the two collections, totally recommend this!

The other face products I want to share with you today are the Profusion Bronze & Contour Sticks.

profusion contour sticks swatches.jpg          ($10)

I did an entire review of these products last month, and this entire kit comes with cream highlight, bronze, and contour sticks as well as a blending sponge. The highlight color (swatched above) doesn’t really work for my skintone, but I am totally in love with the bronze and contour sticks. They’re incredibly creamy, and they just melt into my skin so effortlessly. They’re perfect for my easy makeup days because I can just reach for these guys and cut out the powder bronzer and contour completely. Super happy with these, and I think they’re a steal for the price.

Both of my eye favorites this month hail from Jordana Cosmetics, the first being the Made To Last Eyeshadow Stick in the shade “Continuous Almond”.

jordana continuous almond ($3.99) 

This is a beautiful shadow stick with a very creamy texture, but my personal favorite way to wear this is in my waterline. Since I’m fair skinned, my waterline tends to look very red in comparison to my face, especially in the mornings (my chronic dry eyes don’t help the matter). This is the perfect nude shade to put in the waterline and really wake up your eyes.

jordana swatch.jpg

When they say “made to last”, they’re not joking. This stays in my waterline ALL DAY. My expensive liners can’t even do that, and this was only $4. I absolutely love this product, and fully intend on picking up more shades.

And the last eye product I have to share this month is the Jordana Best Lash Extreme Mascara.

jorana best lash extreme ($3.99) 

This is by far one of the best mascaras in this price range. I tend to go for volumizing mascaras, and this gives plenty of that, but also really builds length. This is a cult classic for a reason. If you’ve never tried this, I strongly suggest picking it up and trying it out!

And the last product we have to talk about this month is the Milani Amore Matte Lip Cream in the shade “Precious”.

20160829_125459.png($8.99) 

I’ve alluded to this multiple times, but I am working on a big drugstore liquid lipstick showdown coming soon, so I won’t get into too many specifics. However, this is a really nice liquid lipstick. Doesn’t really last through eating, but it’s supremely comfortable, this color is to die for, and I found myself reaching for it a lot this month.

Believe it or not, that’s it for today’s post! I know I didn’t have a ton of products to share, but I’d always rather have a few great products than several mediocre ones.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post, and if you did, please be sure to subscribe for more, and come back tomorrow to see a makeup look done using all of these great products!

And as always,

thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

*This post is NOT sponsored. The Profusion sticks were sent to me, all other products were purchased myself. Some links are affiliates.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Monthly Favorites – August 2016

Leave a Reply

