What’s In My Travel Makeup Bag?

Welcome back to Makeup In Montana!

I am leaving tomorrow for a trip to Iowa for my cousin’s wedding! If you don’t already know, I’m originally from Iowa, and I moved up to Montana 2 years ago. In this endeavor, I’ll be doing my makeup (there will be a “Bridesmaid’s Makeup” post) as well as the bride’s.

I’m going to be out of Montana for around a week, so we have a lot of makeup to talk about, because I’m crazy and obviously need to bring half of my collection with me. I wouldn’t ordinarily bring this much with me, but since I am doing bridal makeup, I need to take a lot more than I normally would. So let’s take a peek and see what’s in my travel makeup bag!

First off, let’s take a look at the bag itself.

beauty bag.jpg

This is a Thirty One Beauty Bag. This was a gift from a friend, I have no affiliation with Thirty One, but this is really an awesome bag. It’s very large, so if you’re like me and are incredibly high maintenance when it comes to packing, this is for you.

This has several pockets externally and internally, and the actual bag is very deep and wide, so you can really stuff this thing totally full. (I’m going to attempt not to, since I’ll be in a car for 34 hours cumulatively, and really don’t want any makeup fatalities) And the coolest thing about this bag is that it opens completely and has a loop at the top so you can hang it up in a hotel room if you so desire.

open bag.jpg

This bag also came with a little clear travel case to put liquids in if you’re traveling via plane, and has a bunch of empty clear bottles that have corresponding labels.

insides.jpg

 

Now onto the actual makeup I’m bringing.

Starting off with face products, I’m bringing more than I would like to, specifically because I’ll be working on several skin tones and types.

face products.jpg (I’ve obviously brought entirely too many things, but a girl needs options, right?)   

Primers:

Elf Poreless Primer  

Too Faced Hangover Primer.

Elf Daily Moisture Stick. BEST primer ever for dry skin! Also perfect for midday touch ups.

Arachne’s Demise Cream Luminizer in “Radiant Gold”. These have been reformulated, but I’m actually bringing this to use on my body during the wedding, it adds a beautiful glow to the skin. 

Benefit Cosmetics License To Blot. This is an translucent mattifying cream that’s perfect for on the go touch ups, or even under makeup to help keep oils at bay.

Wet ‘n Wild Photofocus Setting Spray. Not exactly a primer, but a necessity nonetheless.

Foundation:

Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless. Iowa is still hot in September and this foundation has proven to be pretty sweatproof for me. Awesome summer foundation!  

L’Oreal True Match Lumi.

Elf Cosmetics Moisturizing Foundation Stick.

Concealer:

Too Faced Born This Way Concealer.

Hard Candy Glamoflauge Concealer. This is an awesome full coverage concealer, perfect for any blemishes! 

-Elf HD Lifting Concealers. These are in the color correcting shades, unfortunately, I don’t think Elf is selling these particular shades anymore.  

Powder:  

Elf High Defnition Under Eye Setting Powder.

Elf Prime + Stay Finishing Powder.

Highlight & Contouring:

Wet ‘n Wild MegaGlo Contour & Highlight Stick.

Elf Radiance Enhancer in “Spotlight”.  This isn’t sold anymore, but the L’Oreal True Match Lumi Cream Highlight in “Ice” is incredibly similar, but I have linked it above for anyone who may be interested.

Elf Bronzer Palette, Contour Palette, and Illuminating Palette. Can you tell that I love these? 

City Color Cosmetics Highlight Trio in “Collection 1” I raved about this in my August Favorites post, and I just can’t get enough!

And that’s all of the face makeup I’m bringing! I know it’s a lot, but I really want my bases covered for this bridal makeup.

Moving on, here’s all of my eye products I’m bringing.

eye products.jpg

Lashes & Brows:  

Covergirl Super Sizer Fibers. My favorite mascara!  

Wet ‘n Wild MegaLength Waterproof Mascara. The best lower lash mascara, and great for weddings where there are bound to be tears.  

Ardell Demi Wispies. The best lashes for any occasion, they’re perfect for any eye shape.  

Duo Lash Glue.

Ulta Clear Brow Gel.

Elf Instant Lift Brow Pencil .

Nyx Tinted Brow Mascara. My favorite! 

Cream Eyeshadows & Primers:  

Elf Smudge Pot in “Ain’t That Sweet”.

Elf Lustrous Eyeshadow in “Confetti”. This is a beautiful topper to any eye look to add a little bit of glitter, completely fall-out free! 

LA Colors Jumbo Eyeshadow Pencil in “Sea Shell”. This is your standard white eyeshadow base, I use this to pump up any eyeshadow that needs a little help being vibrant.

Essence I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base. My favorite eye primer! 

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion. This is a cult favorite for good reason, I can always trust this primer to last without creasing, no matter what.  

Eyeliners:  

Colourpop Creme Gel Liner in “Get Paid”.

Essence Long Lasting Eye Pencil in “Hot Chocolate”.

Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeliner in “Perversion”.  My favorite black eyeliner for the waterline!

Jordana Made To Last Eyeshadow Stick in “Continuous Almond”. Definitely the best nude liner for the waterline that I’ve ever tried.

Elf Cream Liner in “Coffee”.

Illamasqua Precision Ink Eyeliner in “Abyss”.

Elf Intense Ink Liner in “Black”

Not bad for eye products, I definitely can cut down, but if I’m going to be honest with myself, I probably won’t.

Next up, palettes. These needed their own category so I could justify bringing as many as I have.

palette4s.jpg

Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette.

BH Cosmetics X Shaaanxo Palette. This is perfect for travel since it’s double sided. You’ve got 9 shadows on one side, and 9 lipsticks on the other ; as well as mirrors on each side.  

Elf Cosmetics “Mad For Matte” palette. This is a complete essential, and I cannot imagine leaving without it.  

Coastal Scents Contour Palette. This is not a total favorite of mine, but I’m bringing it because it has 3 blushes, 2 matte highlight shades, and a darker contour, so I can work on a variety of skintones.  

And lastly, the part that was probably most difficult for me, the lips.

lipsticks.jpg

Lip Liners:  

Nyx Peek-A-Boo Natural. My favorite lip liner of all time, it goes with everything!  

Model Co Illusion Lip Liner.

-Ulta Dual Ended Lip Liner.

Wet ‘n Wild Color Icon Lip Liner in “Chestnut”.

Traditional Lipsticks:  

Bare Minerals Gen Nude Lipstick in “Queen”. Because everyone needs a brown lipstick, right?  

Makeup Revolution Amazing Lipstick in “Love Nude”.

Maybelline Creamy Matte in “Touch Of Spice”. One of the most wonderful fall lipsticks ever! 

Pacifica Power Of Love Lipstick in “Nudie Red”.

Jordana Twist &Shine Balm Stain in “Honey Love”. My go-to lipstick! 

-Bite Beauty Luminous Creme Lip Duo in “Lychee/Musk”. These are no longer being sold, which breaks my heart.  

Liquid Lipsticks:  

Milani Amore Matte Lip Cream in “Precious”. One of my favorite shades right now! 

The Balm Meet Matt(e) Hughes in “Committed”.

Palladio Velvet Matte in “Boucle”

Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in “Copenhagen”

Lip Glosses:  

Ulta Mineral Lip Gloss in “Sheer Opal”.

Nyx Butter Gloss in “Tiramisu”.

And believe it or not, that’s all of the makeup that’s coming with me on my little excursion! I know it’s probably incredibly excessive, but that’s because I’m addicted to makeup, and I obviously needed all of this.

And that’ll be it for today’s post! I hope you’ve liked it, and if you have, please be sure to subscribe or follow for email notifications of my future posts.

As always,

thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

*This post is NOT sponsored. The Covergirl Super Sizer Fibers mascara was sent to me. Some links are affiliates.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

