NEW Hard Candy Mix In Pigment Drops – Review! (FAIR SKIN)

Welcome back!

Today I’ll be sharing a review of the brand new Hard Candy Mix In Pigment Drops.

hc mix in pigments.jpg

These claim to be highly concentrated liquid pigment that can be added to any foundation (or other face products) to add coverage or to adjust shade.

If this sounds vaguely familiar to you, it’s because CoverFx came out with their Custom Cover Drops that are basically the exact same idea. I personally don’t have that product to compare, but Emilynoel83 did a great video on YouTube comparing the two, so if you’re interested in seeing how this stacks up to the CoverFx drops, check her video out. Either way, if this concept interests you and you don’t feel like shelling out $44 for the CoverFx version, this one will only run you $6 for 0.5 fl oz of product.

dropper.jpg

This product is a thin liquid with a medicine dropper applicator. The basic idea here is that your level of coverage gets fuller the more drops you add.

My shade is in Fair 1, and I will say that the shade selection is not large. If you remember my Hard Candy Glamoflauge Foundation review, that was my main gripe with that product as well. The shades go to “Deep 3”, but I haven’t seen any swatches so I can’t personally attest to the color, but it doesn’t appear to be very deep at all.

Hard Candy usually caters to fair skin, and I’ve never had an issue finding a matching shade in this line. Until now, that is. Fair 1 is the lightest shade in the line, but it isn’t quite light enough for me. The Glamoflauge foundation in “Porcelain” was a perfect match for my skin, and this one is considerably darker than that.

hc swatch.jpg

In the initial swatch, it seems light enough, but once blended out it’s apparent that it’s too dark.

swatch blended.jpg

With that being said, I can actually get a lot of good use out of this right now because of my slight “tan” (I guess if you burn enough times, eventually some of the color sticks around a bit). But this shade will absolutely not work for me in the dead of winter.

I’ve mixed these with everything from foundation to my daily moisturizer, and I definitely have some very solid thoughts on them.

As for the full coverage claim, I don’t find that to be true. These have a powdery consistency once dried, so you can only add so many to a foundation before it would become cakey and dry. If you’re using a medium coverage foundation and just need a little something more, you could definitely add 2-3 drops and I do see added coverage. My favorite foundation to add this to is the Hard Candy Glamoflauge Foundation. They dry to the same consistency, so they mix beautifully.

My favorite way to use these is mixing 5 drops to my daily moisturizer (My favorite is the Cetaphil Moisturizing Creamand basically making my own BB cream. I get a light-medium coverage and I don’t have to sacrifice any comfort on my skin, which I love.

Another issue I have with this product is more about the packaging. This is very messy, and the drops not being much more than a liquid doesn’t help the situation.

messy  dropper.jpg

I did travel with this recently, but I wouldn’t really recommend it; specifically because of the glass packaging and the incredibly messy dropper.

Overall, I think these are a great addition to the drugstore. There is nothing like this at the drugstore, so I’m glad to see Hard Candy bringing something new to the table, though I would love to see more shades added to the line.

And with that, we end today’s post! I hope you’ve enjoyed it, and that it’s been helpful and informative to you. If you have, be sure to sign up for email notifications for future posts.

As always,

thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

*This post is NOT sponsored. All products were purchased myself.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “NEW Hard Candy Mix In Pigment Drops – Review! (FAIR SKIN)

  1. Tempest

    What would you say the undertone is for the Fair 1? I’ve been looking for a shade to match me (cool toned) but they all seem too yellow for me.

    Like

    • MakeupInMontana

      I’ve never used a Mac foundation, but I think I’m around an NC15, as far as I can tell. This one is also pretty pink on me, and just a little dark. So I think it would be a decent match, but probably not perfect.

      Like

Leave a Reply

