September 2016 Ipsy Unbagging + Review

Welcome back!

Today we’ll be talking about what I received in my September Ipsy bag. A little bit late, but better late than never!

If you’re not familiar, Ipsy is a $10/month subscription service that sends a little bag of 4 to 5 beauty products directly to your door.

september-ipsy-bag

September’s theme was “Glamazon” and I actually think the bag is pretty cute. Not particularly my style, but I can appreciate the design. Now, let’s dig into the bag!

The first thing I pulled out this month was the Too Faced Lip Injection Extreme.

lip injection extreme.jpg (Sample size; full size retails for $28) 

This is a clear lip gloss that claims to plump your lips, hence the “lip injection” name. I know that most people tend to experience quite a bit of pain when using this product, but I had no pain at all. There is a distinct tingling sensation, but it wasn’t painful at all, and I don’t have a strong pain tolerance.

Anyways, this actually works. I’ve used it on myself and several other people, and have seen some positive results. It’s nothing crazy, but there is some plumping action happening with this. This also smells wonderful, so big thumbs up from me!

Moving on, the next product I received was the Be A Bombshell Nail Polish in “Holy Fuscia”.

be a bombshell.jpg ($6) 

To sum it up, I really like this polish! The color is beautiful, especially for fall. It actually appears a little darker in person than it does in photos, which is totally fine with me. The formula was nice, it took about 2 coats for full opacity, and lasted pretty well. My only gripe with this was the funky brush. It’s cut at an angle of sorts that is not only difficult to use, it’s unnecessary. Besides the weird brush, I do like this and will continue to use it.

The only eye product I received was the Dirty Little Secret Cosmetics Eyeshadow in “Teaser”.

dirty-little-secrets (Not sure of the price, I can’t find anything beyond Ipsy’s site on this) 

A few months ago I received a highlighter from this same brand, and I really enjoy it. This shadow is no exception. This is very smooth to the touch and though it isn’t strongly pigmented, it doesn’t struggle with pigmentation either.

teaser

This is a beautiful warm matte brown, and works well as a companion to any shimmery shade, or by itself as a stand alone shadow look.  Ultimately, I really like this, no complaints!

The last cosmetic product I received is the Dr. G Daily Safe BB Cream.

bb cream.jpg (Sample size; full size retails for $32)

This came to me in the shade “Fair”, and it’s actually a pretty great match, which was shocking to me.

bb  cream swatch.jpg

Since this is a BB cream, it isn’t meant to have very full coverage. I get a light coverage out of this, but it’s enough for me. I’ve used this  by itself, mixed with my Hard Candy pigment drops, and even as a primer and have enjoyed every use. I’m not sure I’m ready to jump right in and spend $32 on a BB cream, but this product is definitely making me think about it. Really nice BB cream, and I may purchase a full size!

And the last product I received in September’s bag was the Living Proof Perfect Hair Day 5 in 1 Styling Treatment.

living proof perfect hair day.jpg(Sample size; full size is $27)  

Despite the very long, somewhat confusing name, this is basically a leave in conditioner. This is supposed to add volume as well as adding shine and softness.

If you have been here for any amount of time, you’d know that I typically hate every hair product Ipsy has ever sent me. But finally, we have a hit. This actually does add a lot of shine and volume to my otherwise flat hair. This is the one higher end hair product I’ve used that I am actually considering purchasing a full size of. If you’ve been debating over getting this one, I definitely recommend it.

And that’s everything I received in my September Ipsy bag! If you’ve made it this far, congratulations, you’ve been witness to something amazing and unheard of. This is the only Ipsy bag I’ve received that I have liked EVERY PRODUCT. I know, I’m as shocked as you are. I was very unhappy with my August bag, so I’m glad to see that Ipsy really stepped it up this month and sent out some great products.

And that’ll be it for today’s post! I hope you’ve enjoyed it, and if you have, be sure to sign up for email notifications of future posts.

As always,

thanks for stopping by!

-Samantha

 

*This post is NOT sponsored. All products were purchased myself. Some links are affiliates.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

